
REMINDER:
RecOveRy AudIT cOnTRAcTOR (RAc) AudITs

Mandatory provisions of the Affordable Care Act require the Alabama Medicaid

Agency to select and provide oversight for a Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor

(RAC) to perform provider audits.  Goold Health Systems (GHS), a Maine-based

firm, was selected to be Alabama Medicaid’s Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC)

for a two-year period that began January 1, 2013.

The RAC program is designed to improve payment accuracy by identifying

under and overpayments in Medicaid.  The Medicaid RAC program is a separate

program from the Medicare RAC which is overseen by the Centers for Medicare

and Medicaid Services. 

Reviews will be conducted by GHS staff to include full time medical directors, pharmacists, certified professional coders,

and experienced clinicians.  Audits will be conducted by GHS using a “top down” approach where data analysis, through

data mining, is applied against the universe of paid claims to identify patterns of utilization or billing which look atypical based

on Alabama Medicaid and/or national standards. Following the high-level claims analysis, GHS may expand its review by

requesting clinical records and/or other documents in accordance with state and federal regulations. 

GHS has been informed of the critical role that all providers play in a successful Medicaid program and requires that auditors

be professional, objective, and consistent in performing all required audits/reviews.  

Providers are reminded that the Alabama Administrative Code and their Provider Agreements require compliance with

requests for medical records for Medicaid program audits.

Questions regarding the audits should be directed to: 

Ethel Talley, RAC Program Manager, or Bakeba Thomas, Provider Review Associate Director,  

at (334) 242-5340 or at (334) 242-5634 or

ethel.talley@medicaid.alabama.gov bakeba.thomas@medicaid.alabama.gov
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Pass It On!
Everyone needs to know the latest about Medicaid.

Be sure to route this to:

r Office Manager

r Billing Dept.

r Medical/Clinical

Professionals

r Other ____________

The information contained within is subject to change.
Please review your Provider Manual and all Provider

Alerts for the most up to date information.
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duRAble medIcAl equIPmenT (dme) 

PROgRAm chAnges

Attention:  
DME Providers, Prosthetics & Orthotics (P&O) Providers, 

Pharmacies, Physicians, Physician Assistants, Nurse Practitioners

DME Repair with “RB” Modifier Process

Effective January 1, 2015, Alabama Medicaid will implement the RB Modifier

for specific wheelchair (manual or power) repair/accessory procedure

codes.   For recipients ages 21 years and over, repairs exceeding

$1000.00 dollars per day will require prior authorization (PA). For recipients

ages 0-20, repairs will continue to require PA.

The “RB” modifier must be used with the HCPCS code(s) for all replacement

parts furnished in conjunction with the repair of the beneficiary-owned

base equipment. Miscellaneous parts that are not identified by a specific

HCPCS code(s) are billed using procedure code K0108.  Procedure code

K0108 will not be included in this process and will continue to require PA.

This process will not override the current limitation audits

for each of the procedure codes. For example, if the

recipient has already received the yearly limit for a

specific procedure code (e.g., 2 per calendar year),

the repair will require PA, even if it is less than the

threshold amount of $1000.00 dollars per day.

More information, including a list of codes 

requiring PA, can be found on the DME 

fee schedule published on the Agency’s

website at the following link: http://www.medicaid.

alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.6_Fee_Schedules.aspxthe.

PROvIdeR 
nOTIce: 
Physicians’ 

Signature Designee

In the Alabama Medicaid Agency 

Provider Manual, there are many 

references to medical documentation 

(e.g., orders, referrals, plans of care, 

plans of treatment, treatment plans, etc.)

requiring a physician’s 

signature or the physician’s designee

signature.  This is to clarify that a 

physician’s designee, for the purpose 

of signing medical documentation, 

must be either a physician or 

a non-physician practitioner. 

Failure on the part of the provider to 

comply will result in non-compliance 

citations during Medicaid audits 

and may result in recoupment of 

funds paid by Medicaid. 

need TO uPdATe ThIRd PARTy

InFORmATIOn On A RecIPIenT?

During the eligibility verification process, if it is determined that Medicaid has a Third Party

Insurance that is no longer on file; providers can contact the Third Party Division at the
Medicaid Agency with a policy cancellation date and request the file be updated.

The most efficient way to contact the Third Party Division is to go to Medicaid’s website at:  http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/
CONTENT /6.0_Providers/6.1_Benefit_Coordination.aspx.

Select: Update Health Insurance Information, and complete the on-line form to report the change.

Providers may also call the Third Party Division by calling the direct line of the appropriate staff person to update health
insurance. Please call the number listed below based on the recipient’s last name:

Recipient’s Last Name A – H 334-242-5249    

Recipient’s Last Name I – P 334-242-5280    

Recipient’s Last Name Q – Z 334-242-5254    

Fax Number: 334-353-2922

In the event that the assigned worker is unable to assist you, please contact either of the other workers.  If an answering
machine picks up please leave a message as all calls are returned the day they are received. 



AddRess uPdATe cAPAbIlITy On

secuRe PROvIdeR Web PORTAl

The Medicaid Agency has the capability within the secure

Provider Web Portal, https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.

org/ALPortal/Account/Secure%20Site/tabId/66/Default.aspx,

to allow providers to update Service Location contact infor-

mation, Payee and Mailing addresses and phone numbers.

To access this functionality after signing into the secure web

portal, click “Providers” on the top menu bar. The current

Payee and Mailing address and service location contact

information will be displayed. Providers can make changes

to the displayed information. The changes will be made to

the provider’s file immediately.

Prior to March 12, 2012, providers were able to submit

written requests to update the above information. Now,

any written requests received by Provider Enrollment after

March 12, 2012, will be returned to the provider directing

them to the secure Provider Web Portal to make requested

updates. Providers are not presently allowed to update the

service location address and must continue to contact

Provider Enrollment to make those changes.
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EMERgENcY SERvIcES ONLY

The following aid categories are 
covered for “emergency services” only: 

EK          
EY          
Ec         
ED          
EP

In order for these “emergency services” to be
paid by Medicaid, the provider must submit
the recipient’s claim as an “emergency”.
Please refer to chapter 5 of the Provider
Billing Manual or to the Companion Guide
for instructions on filing a claim for an
“emergency.”

REMINDER:
All AcuTe cARe hOsPITAls, 

ResIdenTIAl TReATmenT 

FAcIlITIes And InPATIenT 

PsychIATRIc hOsPITAls  

Reporting Hospital-Acquired 

Conditions (HAC) and Present 

on Admission (POA) on the 

UB-04 Claim Form

Hospital-Acquired Conditions are conditions that are

reasonably preventable and were not present or identified at

the time of admission; but are either present at discharge or

documented after admission. The Present on Admission

(POA) Indicator is defined as a set of specified conditions

that are present at the time the order for inpatient hospital

occurs.  Present on admission is defined as present at the

time the order for inpatient admission occurs-conditions

that develop during an outpatient encounter, including the

emergency room, observation, or outpatient surgery, are

considered present on admission.

It is the responsibility of the hospital to identify these
events, report them, and not seek any additional payment
for additional days. Medicaid will accept all POA indicators
as listed below:

• Y – Yes. 
Diagnosis was present at time of inpatient admission. 

• N – No. 
Diagnosis was not present at time of inpatient 
admission.

• U – No information in the record. 
Documentation insufficient to determine if the 
condition was present at the time of inpatient 
admission.

• W – Clinically undetermined. 
Provider unable to clinically determine whether 
the condition was present at the time of inpatient 
admission.

• 1 – Unreported/not used. Exempt from POA reporting.

If the value code ‘81’ is indicated; then non-covered days must
be present and the amount field must be greater than ‘0’.

When requested, it is the hospital’s responsibility to include
all supporting documentation with the chart for a review to
be conducted by Medicaid’s contracted Quality Improvement
Organization (QIO). Submission of a root cause analysis
is not required but may be submitted as part of the docu-
mentation to support billing.



PATIenT 1sT / ePsdT ReFeRRAls

When conditions are identified during EPSDT Screenings and referrals are

needed, the reason for the EPSDT referral must be included on the Alabama

Medicaid Referral Form (Form 362) or other medical documentation.  If using

Form 362, the reason for the referral should be noted in the box labeled:

“Reason for Referral”. Completing the referral form correctly and including

the reason for referral or other medical documentation will eliminate audit

citations for this oversight.  The referral form may be accessed in paragraph

E.18, Appendix E, of the Medicaid Provider Manual on Alabama Medicaid

Agency’s website by clicking the following link: 

http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/documents/6.0_Providers/6.7_Manuals/

6.7.8_Provider_Manuals_2014/6.7.8.4_October_2014/Oct14_E.pdf.
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Effective March 1, 2015, providers will be required to use the Medicaid

Interactive Web Portal to make Patient 1st assignments changes.  If you

are not already using the web portal to make Patient 1st assignment

changes, please read the following information for instruction on how to

begin using this user friendly tool.    

If you are enrolled as a group provider to receive your Patient 1st

assignments or if you are an individual physician not enrolled as a group,

you may log on to the web portal as you do for all other transactions. If

you are enrolled as an individual Patient 1st provider within a non-patient

1st group, you were mailed a letter in March 2014 with an additional web

portal log on to access the web portal for each provider in the group to

make Patient 1st assignment changes only. For any other features via

the web portal, please continue to use your current User ID log on. The

secure website is available at the following location:

https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/Account/Secure

%20Site/tabId/66/Default.aspx. 

This site may be accessed from the Medicaid website using the drop-down

menu under Providers. Providers should then access the following

path: pr o v i de r s / PM P  a s s ig n ment .

A recipient’s Medicaid number, or name and date of birth, or date of

birth and SSN must then be entered to request the change.  The same

criteria for patient’s assignments must still be met. Providers will have

the capability to override panel holds, age restrictions, and gender

restrictions set by the PMP. The provider’s PMP panel must be open, and

the caseload not be met at the time the assignment is being made.

Providers will not be allowed to override the following restrictions in

addition to some other restrictions:

• Recipient is locked into another physician (Not a Patient 1st assignment)

• Recipient has been previously dismissed from PMP attempting to 

make the assignment

• Requesting provider is not a Patient 1st participating provider

• PMP panel at contractual maximum limit

• Recipient is not currently eligible for the Patient 1st program

If the change is made by the 15th of the month, the effective date of the

Patient 1st change will be the 1st day of the next month. If made after

the 15th, it will be effective the following month. This eliminates the need

to fax or e-mail Patient 1st change requests to HP Enterprise Services,

and assures you the change has been made. If you have any questions,

please contact Provider Assistance Center at 1-800-688-7989 or contact

one of your Provider Representatives, contact information is available at

the following location:  

http://medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/8.0_Contact/8.2.6.1_Provider

_Reps_G1.aspx.

ATTENTION: PatIent 1St ProvIDerS
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ATTENTION:
all hoSPItalS

ReImbuRsemenT OF 

hOsPITAl 

OuTPATIenT vIsITs

Effective for dates of service January 1, 2015, and

thereafter, outpatient visits will no longer be limited

to 3 per calendar year.  The Alabama Medicaid

Agency will reimburse all in-state and out-of-state

hospitals claims for medically necessary outpatient

visits without regard to an annual limitation.  

Note: At this time, physician office visits will con-

tinue to be limited to 14 per calendar year and

physician hospital visits will continue to be limited

to 16 per calendar year.

For questions, contact Solomon Williams, Associate

Director, Institutional Services at 334-353-3206 or

via e-mail at solomon.williams@medicaid.alabama.gov.

cOmIng sOOn - Icd-10 geneRAl OveRvIeW TelecOnFeRence

The HP ICD-10 team will offer an additional “ICD-10 General Overview” teleconference on January 29, 2015 at 10:00

a.m. as the January 22, 2015 session has reached capacity.  Both teleconferences will provide an overview of the

changes being implemented by Alabama Medicaid for ICD-10. The session will include a segment where the ICD-10

team will be available to answer questions.

Registration is now open and available on the Alabama Medicaid website at http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT

/6.0_Providers/6.12_ICD-10/6.12.6_ICD-10_Teleconference_Training.aspx.

If you have any questions or require assistance with ICD-10 testing, contact the HP ICD-10 team via e-mail at 

alabamaictesting@hp.com.

elecTROnIc uPlOAd And 

submIssIOn OF medIcAl RecORds

nOW AvAIlAble

changes have been made to allow Long Term Care, Hospice,

PEC, Swing Bed and Inpatient Psychiatric Providers to attach

and upload medical records via the Medicaid Interactive

Web Portal, eliminating the cost of mailing documents in

for processing.  A secure logon or access to the Medicaid

Interactive Web Portal must be established if one does

not already exist to access this new attachment option.

Documents may be uploaded two different ways:

• Medicaid Interactive Web portal (preferred)

https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/

Account/Secure20Site/tabId/66/Default.aspx.

• Fax information in for processing 

(bar coded cover sheet required)  

The August 28, 2014, ALERT outlines detailed instructions

on how to upload medical records. The ALERT can be ac-

cessed via the following link:

http://medicaid.alabama.gov/news_detail.aspx?ID=9092.

Paper submission of the medical records will not be allowed

in the future, therefore, providers are encouraged to start

using the electronic upload and submission. 

Providers with questions concerning the upload of medical

records should contact one of their Provider Representatives.

A link to the Provider Representative’s contact information

may be found at the following link:

http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/8.0_Contact/

8.2.6.1_Provider_Reps_G1.aspx.
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COMING SOON: AFFORdAble cARe AcT (AcA) chAnges

Effective Summer 2015, Alabama Medicaid Agency and HP will implement updates to comply with Phase III - Council
for Affordable Quality Healthcare (CAQH) Committee on Operating Rules for Information Exchange (CORE) Electronic
Funds Transfer (EFT) & Electronic Remittance Advice (835/ERA) Operating Rules. The Phase III rules are Rule 350,
Rule 360, Rule 370, Rule 380 and Rule 382.  Information provided within this communication is in relation to some of
the aforementioned rules.

Providers and trading partners should review these rules to determine impacts to their systems. The rules can be accessed
on the CAQH Web site at http://www.caqh.org/ORMandate_EFT.php. 

Alabama Medicaid and HP encourage providers and trading partners to access the CAQH CORE Operating Rules page
on the Alabama Medicaid Agency at the following link:
http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.5_CAQH_Core_Operating_Rules.aspx. The website will
be updated regularly as new information is made available.

Rule 350 Enroll for Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA) – Action Required by Providers
Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA), or the 835, is the HIPAA-compliant detailed explanation of how a submitted health
care claim was processed. 

Why should a provider enroll for an 835/ERA? All providers will be required to obtain a trading partner ID or identify
a trading partner to receive 835s/ERAs on their behalf, and complete the ERA enrollment.

If you are not yet enrolled in 835/ERA follow the below steps: 

• If you DO NOT have a trading partner ID, visit the Alabama Medicaid Interactive Portal at: 
https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/Tab/41/content/InformationLinks/InformationLinks.html.spage
Click on Information/Alabama Links and download the trading partner ID Request Form. 
Complete the appropriate sections and submit to the Electronic Media Claims (EMC) Help Desk as directed 
on the form  

• If you DO have a trading partner ID visit the Administrative Forms section of the Alabama Medicaid website at:
http://medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/5.0_Resources/5.4_Forms_Library/5.4.6_Provider_Enrollment_Forms.aspx.
Download the Electronic Remittance Agreement.  
Complete the appropriate sections and submit to the EMC Help Desk as directed on the form.

Providers can contact the EMc Help Desk Toll-free
Monday – Friday, 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. cST, or Saturday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. cST at (800) 456-1242

rule 360 Uniform Use of CarC/rarC Codes in 835 – Information only
Rule 360 identifies a set of four Core-defined Business Scenarios with a maximum set of Core-required code combinations
that can be used to provide details on a Provider’s Remittance Advice (PDF or 835/ERA) about claims adjustments or
denials.

Initial updates for Alabama Medicaid are planned for Summer 2015.  Subsequent changes will be implemented three times
per year to coincide with updates received from CAQH CORE.  Beginning January 2015, the Explanation of Benefits (EOB)
Listing will be published to a dedicated page on the Alabama Medicaid Agency website after each release.  An RA
Banner message will be produced to coincide with each update.

AA CC A CA C HH ANAN GES!GES!
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Rule 370 Re-association Request: contact Your Bank – Action Required by Providers
Re-association is a process that supports matching of payments with claim data for posting to your patient accounts. Alabama
Medicaid implemented Cash Concentration and Disbursement Plus One Addenda Record (CCD+) changes September 2013. 

Providers should contact their financial institutions to request the necessary data to associate EFT payments to 835/ERAs.

A sample letter is available in the CORE section of the CAQH website at http://www.caqh.org/benefits.php. (Go to Mandated
Operating Rules then select EFT and ERA. Scroll down to Implementation Resources section). The Sample Provider EFT
Re-association Data Request Letter is available to use as a guide for creating a letter to submit to your financial institution
or to use as a talking point guide when calling your financial institution to discuss re-association.

Why is it important for providers to complete the re-association request? This process allows providers to obtain
data needed to associate the electronic remittance advice (835s/ERAs) to their electronic funds transfer (EFT).  It does not
affect claims processing.  You do not need to send any information to Alabama Medicaid or HP Enterprise Services.

NOTE:  An automated means of re-association cannot be supported if:
·A provider is not enrolled to receive both EFT and 835/ERA;
·A provider is not receiving the necessary 835/ERA re-association information from their trading partner, or;
·A provider has not yet made arrangements with their financial institution to receive the new CCD+ re-association 
information on their EFT.

Rule 370 EFT/ERA Elapsed Time Requirements - Process change Notification
In order to meet the requirements of Affordable Care Act (ACA) Operating Rule 370 (EFT and ERA Re-association Rule
(CCD+/835)) elapsed time requirements, Alabama Medicaid must release the v5010 X12 835 (ERA) and the corresponding
EFT within three (3) business days of each other. 

Effective Summer 2015, Alabama Medicaid will begin releasing ERA/835’s within three (3) business days (plus or
minus) of the EFT being released. This is a change to current day processes where the 835/ERA is made available to
providers even when funds related to the 835/ERA have not yet been released.

Note: There is currently no change to the availability of the proprietary RA which will continue to be available on the web
portal following each check write cycle. 

Providers and trading partners are encouraged to monitor the CAQH CORE Operating Rules page on the Medicaid website
at: http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.5_CAQH_Core_Operating_Rules.aspx as it will be
updated regularly as new information is made available.

Rule 370 Late or Missing EFT and 835/ERA Transaction Resolution Procedures
Affordable Care Act Operating Rule 370, section 4.3, designates that a health plan must establish written Late or Missing EFT
and 835/ERA Transaction Resolution procedures defining the process a healthcare provider must use when researching and
resolving a late or missing Healthcare EFT Standards payment and/or corresponding late or missing v5010 X12 835 (ERA).

Late or Missing is defined as a maximum elapsed time greater than three (3) business days following the receipt of either
the Healthcare EFT Standards or v5010 X12 835 (ERA).

Detailed information on resolving Late or Missing EFT and 835/ERA Transaction Resolution Procedures can be found on the Al-
abama Medicaid website at: http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.5.2.3_CAQH_CORE_370.aspx. 
If the information on the Medicaid website does not produce an answer to the late or missing EFT or 835/ERA, please
contact the EMC Help Desk toll-free Monday – Friday, 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. CST, or Saturday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CST
at (800-456-1242).

Rule 350 Health care claim Payment/Advice Batch Acknowledgement – Action Required 
by Providers
Rule 350, Health Care Claim Payment/Advice Batch Acknowledgement Requirement requires trading partners to return a
v5010 X12 999 Implementation Acknowledgement (Inbound 999) to a health plan (Alabama Medicaid) for each group of
v5010 X12 835 (ERA) transactions received to indicate the transactions were either accepted, accepted with errors or
rejected. HPES and the Alabama Medicaid Agency are required to accept the Inbound 999 from trading partners.

Instructions on how to submit the Inbound 999 using the Web Portal are provided on the Alabama Medicaid Agency website

at: http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/CONTENT/6.0_Providers/6.5.2.1_CAQH_CORE_350.aspx.
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The release of funds is normally the second Monday after the RA date. Please verify direct deposit status with

your bank. Go to www.medicaid.alabama.gov to view the payment delay update details.  Payment alerts will

be posted only if there will be a payment delay.  As aways, the release of direct deposits and checks depends

on the availability of funds.
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