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State of Alabama Medicaid Agency

 MISSION: To provide a system of financing health care for eligible

Alabamians in accordance with established statues and Executive
Orders.

* VISION: To play a key leadership role in ensuring availability and

access to appropriate health care for all Alabamians.
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Long Term Care Division

The Alabama Medicaid Agency administers a comprehensive program of Long
Term Care services that offers eligible recipients a wide range of care choices
as well as increased opportunities to receive services at home, in the
community, or in a facility. The Long Term Care Division consists of the
following programes:

* Home Health Program

* Hospice Program

* Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded (ICF/MR) Program

* Nursing Home Program

*  Ombudsman Program

* Ventilator Dependent and Qualified Tracheostomy Care (Nursing Home Vent)
* Money Follows the Person (MFTP) Program

* Private Duty Nursing (PDN) Program

* Prosthetics and Orthotics Program
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Long Term Care Division

Long Term Care services also include waiver programs to provide alternatives
to institutional care. Long Term Care waiver services include:

Alabama Community Transition (ACT) Waiver
Elderly and Disabled Waiver

HIV/AIDS Waiver

Intellectual Disabilities (ID) Waiver

Living at Home (LAH) Waiver

State of Alabama Independent Living (SAIL) Waiver
Technology Assisted (TA) Waiver
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Topics of Discussion

»Tips for an Efficient Medical Review

» An Overview of Transfer and Discharge Appeal Process
»Long Term Care Bed Hold Policy

»Therapeutic Leave Policy

»Hospice Care

» Alabama Home and Community-Based Waiver Services
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Tips for an Efficient Medical Review

Please accurately complete the Admission and Evaluation Data (Form 161) 1n its entirety.
This includes documenting the Name, Medicaid Number, and Date on pages 2 and
3of the form. If the recipient is a spend down, please check spend down on the form and
gtve the dates of the spend down status

Please ensure that the Medicaid date 1s documented correctly on the Form 161 since when
the physician signs the form he/she is stating that “I certify this resident requires nutsing
tacility care effective on the admission date appearing on this form”

The Form 161 should be sighed appropriately by the physician and the RN
Submit medical records pertinent to the criteria selected. Understand the criteria

The facility 1s not required to send the entire medical record, only information that supports
the request for LTC

Initial audit requests and requests for additional information must be submitted timely to
avoid any penalties as referenced in the Administrative Code Rule No. 560-X-.07. Review

of Medicaid Residents
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Tips for an Efficient Medical Review (Continue)

If unstable medical condition is the qualifying criterion (criterion G) then the medical record
must contain information to support the condition and the active treatment rendered within
00 days prior to admission

PRN Oxygen is not covered; must submit MAR showing regular usage
Multiple criteria under K will count as one criterion

When criteria K is checked on Form 161, please submit at least 1 week of nurse’s notes or
ADLS flow sheets, approximately 1 week prior to the Medicaid admission date if transferring
trom Medicare to Medicaid. This information can also be documented on Form 161 under
the section of Diagnosis and Pertinent Medical Information.

Submit the full MDS prior to and closest to the Medicaid admission date
Cannot mark A and K, MUST BE ONE OR THE OTHER
Cannot mark G and K9, MUST BE ONE OR THE OTHER

If the recipient is out in the community greater than 30 days, then the recipient will be a new

admission and must meet at least two criteria
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AN OVERVIEW

Transfer and Discharge Appeal Process
For Nursing Facility Residents
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Definition

= Transfer and discharge includes movement of a resident to a bed
outside of the certified facility whether that bed is in the same physical
plant or not.

* Transfer and discharge does not refer to movement of a resident to a
bed within the same certified facility.
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Reasons for Transfer or Discharge

The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility, and not transfer
or discharge the resident from the facility unless one of the following conditions
exist:

" The transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident’s welfare and the resident’s needs cannot
be met in the facility;

" The transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident’s health has improved sufficiently
so the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;

" The safety of individuals in the facility 1s endangered;
" The health of individuals in the facility would otherwise be endangered;

" The resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or to have paid
under Medicaid or Medicare) a stay at the facility;

" The facility ceases to operate.
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Questions Regarding Transfer or Discharge

= WHO HAS THE RIGHT TO APPEAL A TRANSFER OR
DISCHARGE?

~All individuals in a Medicaid certified nursing facility regardless of
payment source.

= WHAT IS THE AUTHORITY GOVERNING TRANSFER OR
DISCHARGE APPEALS?

~The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 483.12. “Admission,
Transfer, and Discharge Rights.”
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Nursing Facility Responsibilities in the
Transfer or Discharge Process

Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility must:

Notify the resident and a family member or legal representative of the transfer or discharge and the
reasons for the move;

Record the reasons in the resident’s clinical record; and

Be sure to include the following information when submitting the notice:

The reason for transfer or discharge;
The effective date of transfer or discharge;
The location to which the resident is to be transferred or discharged;

A statement that the resident has the right to appeal the action by filing a written request within 30
days of the notice or transfer or discharge to the Medicaid Agency at the following address:

Ozenia G. Patterson, LTC Director
Alabama Medicaid Agency
P.O Box 5624
Montgomery, AL 36130
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Nursing Facility Responsibilities in the
Transfer or Discharge Process (Continue)

State Long Term Care Ombudsman
Contact Information:

Alabama Department of Senior Services
Virginia Moore-Bell
770 Washington Avenue, Suite 470
Montgomery, AL 36130
(877) 425-2243 or (334) 242-5753
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Nursing Facility Responsibilities in the
Transfer or Discharge Process (Continue)

For nursing facility residents with developmental disabilities, the protection and advocacy of
developmentally disabled individuals under Part C of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and
Bill of Rights Act:

Alabama Disabilities Advocacy Program (ADAP)
P.O. Box 870395
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
(800) 826-1675 or (205) 348-4928

For nursing facility residents who are mentally ill, the protection and advocacy of mentally ill
individuals established under the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill Individuals Act:

Alabama Disabilities Advocacy Program (ADAP)
P.O. Box 870395
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
(800) 826-1675 or (205) 348-4928

Medicaid ]




Nursing Facility Responsibilities in the
Transfer or Discharge Process (Continue)

When a nursing facility resident appeals a proposed discharge, the documentation submitted by the
nursing facility to Medicaid in support of the discharge must meet all requirements of Alabama
Administrative Code 560-X-10-.26 including but not limited to, those outlined above as well as a physician
statement indicating that the resident is appropriate for discharge.

CFR 483.20(1)(3): Discharge Summary — When the facility anticipates discharge, a resident must have a
discharge summary that includes:

" A recapitulation of the resident’s stay;

" A final summary of the resident’s status at the time of the discharge that is available for release to
authorized persons and agencies, with the consent of the resident or legal representative; and

" A post-discharge plan of care that is developed with the participation of the resident and his or her
tamily, which will assist the resident to adjust to his or her new living environment.
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Most Common Reasons for Denial

Insufficient discharge notification

Insufficient documentation of reasons for discharge in the clinical record for
review

Clinical records not submitted
Physician statement not submitted

No post-discharge plan of care has been developed
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Who makes the final decision on an
appealed discharge or transfer?

The Alabama Medicaid Agency has a Discharge Appeal Committee
composed of the following individuals:

= Director, Long Term Care Division —Chairperson

= Director, Provider Audit

" Medicaid, Office of General Counsel

= Associate Medical Director

= Associate Director, Medical & Quality Review Unit

= Associate Director, Long Term Care Provider/Recipient Services Unit
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When should the resident, family member, or
legal representative be notified?

The facility must notify the resident, family member,
or legal representative at least 30 days before the resident is
transferred or discharged.
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Can a notice be issued in
less than 30 days?

Notice may be made as soon as practicable before
transfer or discharge when:

The health and safety of individuals in the facility would be endangered;

The resident’s health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate
transfer or discharge;

An immediate transfer or discharge is required by the resident’s urgent
medical needs; or

A resident has not resided in the facility for 30 days.
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Refusal of Certain Transfers

An individual has the right to refuse a transfer to another room
within the institution, if the purpose of the transfer is to relocate:

= A resident of a SNF from the distinct part of the institution that is a SNF to a
part of the institution that is not a SNF.

= A resident of a NF from the distinct part of the institution that is a NF to a
distinct part of the institution that is a SNF.

= A resident’s exercise of the right to refuse transfers as indicated does not
affect the individual’s eligibility or entitlement to Medicare or Medicaid
benefits.
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What Are Appropriate and Inappropriate
Discharges or Transfers?

APPROPRIATE:

Health and safety issues
Payment issues

INAPPROPRIATE:

Discharges to hospital without notice of intended discharge and not allowing
residents to return
Any discharge without proper notice as referenced in CFR 483.12
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Long Term Care Bed Hold Policy

Effective September 1, 2000, neither Medicaid patients, nor their families, nor their sponsor,
may be charged for reservation of a bed for the first four days of any period during which a
Medicaid patient 1s temporarily absent due to admission to a hospital.

Nursing facilities must allow residents to return to their facility before the bed hold period
expires provided the resident 1s an appropriate placement for nursing facility care and the
nursing facility provides the type of services that meets the needs of the resident.

The nursing facility must have documented verifiable evidence in the resident’s medical
record to indicate that there has been a significant change in the resident’s condition, either
prior to or during the hospital stay making re-admission to the nursing facility inappropriate
because the nursing facility can no longer meet the needs of the resident.

When such a significant change in a resident’s condition occurs prior to discharge to the
hospital, the nursing facility should use reasonable efforts to begin to arrange for appropriate
placement for the resident prior to transferring the resident to the hospital.
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Long Term Care Bed Hold Policy (Continue)

If the Alabama Medicaid Agency determines that the nursing facility has failed to follow the
rules set forth in the federal and state bed hold policies, the Alabama Medicaid Agency shall
notify the Division of Health Care Facilities, Alabama Department of Public Health, for
appropriate enforcement action.

Medicaid may terminate the facility’s provider agreement for failing to adhere to the rules set
forth in the federal and state bed-hold policy until an acceptable plan of correction is received
from the nursing facility.

If the therapeutic leave or bed hold period has expired, the resident must be readmitted to the
tacility immediately upon the first available bed in a semi-private room if the resident requires
the services provided by the facility.
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Long Term Care Bed Hold Policy (Continue)

The covered four day hospital stay reservation policy
does not apply to:

Medicaid eligible patients who are discharged to a hospital while their nursing home stay 1s
being paid by Medicare or another payment source other than Medicaid,;

Any non Medicaid patient;
A patient who has applied for Medicaid but has not yet been approved;

Medicaid patients who have received a notice of discharge for non-payment of service.
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Long Term Care Bed Hold Policy (Continue)

Providers will not receive payment for bed hold days
prospectively but should be included
on the NF cost reports.
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Therapeutic Leave Policy

Payments to nursing facilities may be for therapeutic leave visits to
home, relatives, and friends for up to six days per calendar quarter.

A therapeutic leave visit may not exceed three days per visit.

A resident may have a therapeutic visit that is one, two, or three
days in duration as long as the visit does not exceed three days per
visit or six days per quarter.

Visits may not be combined to exceed the three-day limit.

The facility must obtain physician orders for therapeutic leave.
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Third Party
Guarantee of Payment

The facility must not require a third party guarantee of payment to
the facility as a condition of admission or expedited admission or
continued stay in the facility.

The facility may require an individual who has legal access to a
resident’s income or resources available to pay for facility care to
sigh a contract, without incurring personal financial liability, to
provide facility payment from the residents income or resources.
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REMINDER: ALERT Message Submitted to Medicaid Certified Nursing Facilities
(Publication Date via Website: 8/22/12)

Attention: Medicaid Certified Nursing Facilities
RE: Coverage for Ventilator-Dependent and Qualified Tracheostomy Care Residents

Effective January 16, 2012, the Alabama Medicaid Agency will pay nursing facilities a supplemental fee-for-service payment for care provided to
ventilator-dependent residents and/or qualified tracheostomy residents who are eligible for Medicaid benefits and meet specific medical criteria
established by Medicaid.

The Alabama Medicaid Agency will pay nursing facilities a supplemental fee-for-service payment in addition to the daily nursing facility rate for
care provided to ventilator-dependent and/or qualified tracheostomy residents who are eligible for Medicaid benefits.

The nursing facility must meet specific provider requitements and the ventilator-dependent/ tracheostomy cate resident must meet specific
medical criteria established by the Alabama Medical Agency.

Information regarding the required documentation for the nursing facility and the resident is included in Alabama Medicaid Administrative Code
Chapter 63. Nursing facilities must mail all documentation for the facility and resident to HP with a correctly completed Long Term Care Records
coversheet. The coversheet is located on the Medicaid website at:

The records should be mailed to the following address:

HP ENTERPRISES SERVICES
P. O. BOX 224032
MONTGOMERY, AL 36124-4032

An incotrectly completed coversheet will result in the record being returned to the provider. Please denote, “VENT/TRACH” on the coversheet.
To facilitate review of the record, please send an e-mail to with ONLY the Medicaid ID, stating, “the record
is ready for review.” Do not send any PHI in the e-mail.




Hospice Care

*  Hospice Care is a comprehensive home care program which primarily provides medical and support
services for terminally ill patients.

*  Medicaid patients who voluntarily choose to end any treatment designed to cure their disease are eligible
to receive services, supplies, and care to provide necessary relief of pain or other symptoms.

* All Alabama hospice providers are now required to use the Medicaid approved criteria when determining
medical necessity for Medicaid recipients electing the hospice benefit when Alabama Medicaid is the primary

payor.

* Hospice Room & Board: Medicaid pays the hospice 95% of the Nursing Home rate applicable for that
year for the room and board that would have been paid to the nursing facility for that individual under the
State Plan.

* Hospice reimburses the nursing home based on the contract between the two providers.

* Learn more about the new Alabama Medicaid Hospice Medical Criteria by visiting:
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SSI Recipients Transitioning
from Home to Institution

* It the recipient receives
hospice in the home and
transitions to a nursing
home, SSA must be
notified by the provider or
sponsor regarding the
individual’s change of
residence. The individual’s
income must be adjusted

accordingly by SSA.
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Alabama Home and Community-Based
Waiver Services

Medicaid is a health care program for low income Alabamians. Home and
Community-Based Waiver services provide additional Medicaid benefits to specific
populations who meet special eligibility criteria. The Alabama Home and
Community-Based Waiver Services Chart/Matrix summarizes those benefits,
criteria, and informs you on how to apply for a HCBS waiver.

Applicants must meet financial, medical, and program criteria to access waiver
services. The applicant also must be at risk of nursing institutionalization (nursing
facility, hospital, ICF/MR). A client who receives services through a waiver
program also is eligible for all basic Medicaid covered services. Each waiver
program has an enrollment limit. There may be a waiting period for any particular
waiver. Applicants may apply for more than one waiver, but may only receive
services through one waiver at a time. Anyone who is denied Medicaid eligibility for
any reason has a right to appeal. Additional information can be found on the
Alabama Medicaid Agency’s website: www.medicaid.alabama.gov
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Contact Information

Policy Questions Regarding Nursing Home:
Robin Arrington, LTC Provider/Recipient Services Unit
(334) 353-4754

Policy Questions Regarding Hospice in a Nursing Home:
Felicha Fisher, LTC Provider/Recipient Services Unit
(334) 353-5153

Billing Questions:
HP
(800) 688-7989
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Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Alabama Medicaid Agency
Long Term Care Division
501 Dexter Avenue
P.O. Box 5624
Montgomery, AL 36103-5624

Website Addresses:

www.medicaid.alabama.gov
www.cms.hhs.gov
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State of Alabama Medicaid Agency
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On behalf of the State of Alabama Medicaid Agency,
“I'hank you” for attending the Healthcare Compensation
Solutions Seminar!

Questions?
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