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Chapter 25.  Medicaid Eligibility. 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.01.  Governing Authorities. 
 (1) In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the Agency's rules and regulations are 
governed by the Social Security Act (hereinafter referred to as the Act), Titles XVI and 
XIX; 20 C.F.R. (Part 416); 42 C.F.R. (Part 435); and the Alabama State Plan for Medical 
Assistance. 
 
 (2) Any part of the Code of Federal Regulations cited herein is adopted by 
reference as a part of the Rule in which it is cited. 
 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama, Section 41-22-9. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.02.  Administrative Responsibilities. 
 (1) The Alabama Medicaid Agency determines eligibility for individuals for the 
following programs: 
  (a) All Medicaid programs in accordance with Titles XIX and XXI of the 
Act except those listed in (2) and (3) below; and, 
  (b) Low Income Subsidy (LIS) under Medicare Part D in accordance with 
the rules under the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and Modernization Act of 
2003 (MMA). 
 
 (2) The Social Security Administration determines the eligibility of individuals 
for Supplemental Security Income under Title XVI of the Act. 
 
 (3) The Alabama Department of Human Resources determines Medicaid 
eligibility of individuals qualifying for various forms of assistance in accordance with 
Titles IV-E and XIX of the Act. 
 
 (4) The Alabama Department of Public Health determines Medicaid eligibility of 
individuals qualifying for various forms of assistance in accordance with Titles XIX and 
XXI of the Act. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles IV, XVI, XIX, and XXI; Sections 
1860D-14, 1902(a)(66), 1905(p)(3), and 1935(a); 20 CFR 416, 42 CFR 423.774, 
423.904, and 42 CFR 435; and the State Plan. 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended: Filed November 18, 2005; 
effective February 15, 2006.  Amended: Filed February 11, 2014; effective March 18, 
2014.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.03.  Coverage Groups. 
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 (1) The following are the general groups of individuals designated as 
categorically eligible under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, and who as a result are 
Medicaid eligible: 
  (a) Aged, blind or disabled persons who receive Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) under Title XVI; 
  (b) Persons who are residents of Title XIX institutions but who are not 
eligible for SSI, Optional Supplementation or AFDC because their income exceeds $50 
per month but is not more than 300 percent of the current SSI benefit amount payable to 
an individual in his own home who has no income; 
  (c) Persons who would be eligible for SSI or Optional Supplementation but 
for the fact that they are residents of a Title XIX institution; 
  (d) All aged, blind and disabled persons who were residents of a Title XIX 
institution as of December 31, 1973, and who were converted from the former State 
program (OAP, APTD, AB). If ineligible under current eligibility rules these individuals 
are entitled to use the rules for determining eligibility which were in effect under the 
State's Plan for Medical Assistance in December 1973; 
  (e) Persons who: 
   1. are currently receiving Old Age Survivors Disability Insurance 
(OASDI); 
   2. are ineligible for SSI due to income; 
   3. were contemporaneously eligible for both OASDI and SSI in the 
same month after April 1977; and 
   4. would be eligible for SSI but for OASDI cost-of-living increases 
received since the last month of contemporaneous OASDI and SSI eligibility; 
  (f) Individuals receiving mandatory or optional State Supplementation 
payments; 
  (g) Individuals who would be eligible for SSI, except for the increase in 
OASDI benefits under Pub. L. 92-336 (July 1, 1972), who were entitled to OASDI in 
August 1972, and who were receiving cash assistance in August 1972 or who were 
eligible for such cash assistance but for the fact that they were residents of a medical 
institution or intermediate care facility; 
  (h) Medicaid for Low Income Families: Individuals eligible for Medicaid 
through the Medicaid for Low Income Families Program or who meet the eligibility 
criteria for Medicaid for Low Income Families based on policies in effect for the AFDC 
program as it existed on July 16, 1996, based on Section 1931 of the Social Security Act. 
 
   The following individuals are deemed to be eligible for Medicaid for 
Low Income Families: 
   1. AFDC qualified pregnant women whose family income and 
resources fall within the standards for Medicaid for Low Income Families. 
   2. Individuals under age 18 who would qualify for Medicaid for Low 
Income Families but do not qualify as dependent children, since they are children for 
whom public agencies have assumed full or partial financial responsibility and who are in 
foster homes or private institutions. 
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  (i) All individuals receiving assistance under Title IV-E of the Act, 
including children for whom adoption assistance or foster care payments are made in 
Alabama or out of state; 
  (j) Individuals who are eligible for Medicaid solely because they require 
and receive services under CMS approved home and community-based services waiver. 
See Appendix C of the waiver document for a complete description of eligibility groups 
served by a specific waiver. 
 
 (2) Section 1902 (e)(4) of the Social Security Act as amended by the Children’s 
Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-3, Section 113) 
mandates that a child born to a woman eligible for and receiving Medicaid on the date of 
the child’s birth be deemed eligible for Medicaid for a period of one year. Under Section 
211 of Public Law 111-3, children who are initially eligible for Medicaid as deemed 
newborns are considered to have provided satisfactory documentation of citizenship and 
identity by virtue of being born in the United States and may not be required to provide 
further documentation of citizenship or identity at any subsequent Medicaid eligibility 
determination or redetermination. 
 
 (3) The following coverage is mandated by the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act, Section 9501 of Public Law 99-272. 
  (a) All pregnant women who otherwise meet Medicaid for Low Income 
Families income and resource criteria. 
  (b) Sixty-day postpartum coverage to women who were eligible for and 
receiving Medicaid on the date the pregnancy ended. 
 
 (4) The following coverage is mandated by the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1985, Section 12202 of Public Law 99-272. Coverage is extended 
to disabled widows or widowers if he or she meets all of the following criteria: 
  (a) was entitled to a monthly insurance benefit for December 1983 under 
Title II of the Social Security Act; 
  (b) was entitled to and received a widow's or widower's benefit for January 
1984 based on a disability under Section 202(e) or (f) of the Social Security Act; 
  (c) became ineligible for SSI/SUP in the first month in which that increase 
was paid to him or her (and in which a retroactive payment of that increase for prior 
months was not made) because of the increase in the amount of the widow's or widower's 
benefit which resulted from the elimination of the reduction factor for disabled widows 
and widowers entitled before age 60; 
  (d) has been continuously entitled to a widow's or widower's benefit under 
Section 202(e) or (f) of the Act from the first month that increase in the widow's or 
widower's benefit was received; 
  (e) would be eligible for SSI/SUP benefits if the amount of that increase, 
and any subsequent cost-of-living adjustments in widow's or widower's benefits provided 
under Section 215(i) of the Act, were disregarded; and 
  (f) makes written application for benefits under this provision before July 1, 
1988. 
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 (5) The following coverage is mandated by Section 1634(c) of the Social Security 
Act as amended by Section 6, P.L. 99-643. Individuals who lose eligibility for SSI 
because of entitlement to, or an increase in Social Security benefits received as a 
Disabled Adult Child (DAC) shall continue to be eligible for Medicaid if they meet the 
following criteria: 
  (a) meet current SSI income and resource limits after a disregard of the 
entitlement to, or an increase in Social Security benefits. 
  (b) makes written application for continuation of Medicaid coverage no later 
than 30 days after notification of possible eligibility by the Medicaid Agency. 
 
 (6) The following coverage is provided by state option under the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1986 (P.L. 99-509): 
  (a) All pregnant women with a family unit income, as defined by Title IV-A 
criteria, not in excess of 100 percent of the current federal poverty line; 
  (b) Pregnant women eligible for Medicaid will continue eligible for 
prenatal, delivery, and postpartum care, without regard to changes in income, to the end 
of the 60-day postpartum period; 
  (c) Infants eligible under SOBRA will be Medicaid eligible up to one year 
of age while residing in a family unit whose income does not exceed 100 percent of the 
current federal poverty line. 
 
 (7) The following coverage is mandated by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1987, (P.L. 100-203, Section 9116). Disabled widows and widowers may be 
eligible for and able to retain Medicaid benefits if they meet all of the following criteria: 
  (a) have reached 60 but not age 65; 
  (b) not eligible for Part A Medicare; 
  (c) eligible for and receiving Title II benefits (OASDI); and, 
  (d) lost SSI as a result of receiving early widows/widowers benefits. 
 
 (8) The following coverage is mandated by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage 
Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-360, Section 301) as amended by P.L. 101-508. This limited 
coverage is described in the State Plan for Medical Assistance. Individuals may be 
eligible for Catastrophic Coverage as Qualified Medicaid Beneficiaries alone or may be 
dually eligible if they meet the criteria of the other categorical eligibility as described in 
this Chapter. Aged, blind, or disabled individuals may be eligible under these provisions 
if they meet the following criteria: 
  (a) Entitled to Part A Medicare. 
  (b) Have resources that do not exceed three times the resource standard for a 
recipient of Supplemental Security Income. Resource standards are a federal requirement, 
but are not an eligibility requirement for Alabama's program. 
  (c) Have income at or below the following limits: 
   Income for 1989 will be 85% of federal poverty level. 
   Income for 1990 will be 90% of federal poverty level. 
   Income for 1991 will be 100% of federal poverty level. 
   Income for 1992 and afterwards will be 100% of federal poverty level. 
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 (9) Section 4501(b) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 amended 
1902(a)(10)(E) of the Social Security Act to mandate coverage of Specified Low Income 
Medicare Beneficiaries beginning January 1, 1993. This provision requires medical 
assistance payment of Medicare Part B premiums for eligible individuals. The Specified 
Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMBs) must meet all of the eligibility 
requirements for Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) status with the exception of 
income limits. The SLMBs must have income within the limits listed below: 
 
Income for 1993 cannot be less than 100% and not more than 110% of federal poverty 
level. 
 
Income for 1994 cannot be less than 100% and not more than 110% of federal poverty 
level. 
 
Income for 1995 and afterwards cannot be less than 100% and not more than 120% of 
federal poverty level. 
 
The SLMBs must have resources that do not exceed three times the resource standard for 
a recipient of Supplemental Security Income. Resource standards are a federal 
requirement, but are not an eligibility requirement for Alabama's program. 
 
 (10) The following coverage is mandated by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 
(Public Law 105-33, Section 4732). Qualifying Individuals (QI-1). 
  (a) Individuals who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under section 1818A of the Act); 
  (b) Whose income exceeds 120 percent of the federal poverty level but does 
not exceed 135 percent of the federal poverty level; 
  (c) Whose resources do not exceed three times the maximum resource 
standard under SSI; Resource standards are a federal requirement, but are not an 
eligibility requirement for Alabama's program. 
  (d) Who is not eligible for any other Medicaid program; and, 
  (e) Who has been awarded benefits when federal funds are available for the 
program. Eligibility is awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. 
  (Medical assistance for the above group is limited to payment of the Medicare 
Part B premiums under Section 1839 of the Act.) 
 
 (11) The following coverage is mandated by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1989 (OBRA 89) Section 6401 of P.L. 101-239). 
  (a) All pregnant women with a family unit income, as defined by Title IV-A 
criteria, not in excess of 133 percent of the current federal poverty level; 
  (b) Pregnant women eligible for Medicaid under this provision will continue 
eligible for prenatal, delivery, family planning, and postpartum care, without regard to 
changes in income, to the end of the month in which the 60th day of the postpartum 
period falls; and 
  (c) Children under age 6 with a family unit income, as defined by Title IV-
A criteria, not in excess of 133 percent of the current federal poverty level. 



 6 

 
 (12) Children under 21, who would be eligible for Medicaid for Low Income 
Families, ACFC, SSI or otherwise Medicaid eligible if they were in their own home, but 
who are admitted as inpatients of a psychiatric facility. 
 
 (13) Qualified Disabled and Working Individual - A Qualified Disabled and 
Working Individual is an individual: 
  (a) under age 65; 
  (b) who has been entitled to Title II Disability Insurance Benefits (DIB); 
  (c) whose DIB ended due to earnings exceeding the Substantial Gainful 
Activity (SGA) level; 
  (d) who continues to have the same disabling physical or mental condition 
and not expected to improve; 
  (e) not otherwise entitled to Medicare; 
  (f) entitled to enroll in Medicare Part A under the provisions of 6012 (i.e., 
DIB terminated because of work, still working); and 
  (g) whose income, based on SSI rules, is under 200% of the Federal Poverty 
Level (FPL); 
  (h) whose resources, based on SSI rules, do not exceed twice the SSI 
resource limit; 
  (i) who is not otherwise eligible for medical assistance under Title XIX. 
 
 (14) The following coverage is mandated by Section 5103 of P.L. 101-508, the 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, (OBRA '90) and is applicable to disabled 
widows/widowers and disabled surviving divorced spouses. 
  Effective January 1, 1991, individuals who lose SSI because of receipt of a 
Title II benefit resulting from the change in the definition of disability will be deemed to 
be receiving SSI if: 
  (a) They were receiving SSI for the month prior to the month they began 
receiving the Title II benefit; 
  (b) They would continue to be eligible for SSI if the amount of the Title II 
benefit were not counted as income; and 
  (c) They are not entitled to Medicare Part A. 
 
 (15) The following coverage is mandated by Section 4601 of P.L. 101-508, the 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 and is effective July 1, 1991. This provision 
requires a year-by-year phase in of children born after September 30, 1983 and is 
applicable to children who: 
  (a) Have attained age six; 
  (b) Are under nineteen years of age; and 
  (c) Have family incomes below 100% of the federal poverty level. 
 
 (16) Children who are Medicaid eligible as determined by the State Department of 
Human Resources receive state adoption subsidies and have a special need for medical or 
rehabilitative care. 
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 (17) The following coverage is mandated by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 
(Public Law 105-33, Section 4913). Exempted children. Children who were receiving 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) as of August 22, 1996 and who were terminated 
from SSI due to the change in definition of disability by the Personal Responsibility and 
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996. These children will remain 
eligible for Medicaid as long as they continue to meet the eligibility requirements of SSI 
but for the change in definition of disability 
 
 (18) Emergency services, as defined by the Alabama Medicaid Agency, will be 
covered for illegal aliens who would be otherwise eligible for Medicaid except for 
enumeration, citizenship and alienage requirements. 
 
 (19) The following coverage is allowed by PL 106-354, the Breast and Cervical 
Cancer Prevention and Treatment Act (BCCPTA) of 2000. Medicaid coverage is 
available to women who: 
  (a) have been screened for breast or cervical cancer under the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program 
established under title XV of the Public Health Service Act in accordance with the 
requirements of section 1504 of that Act and need treatment for breast or cervical cancer, 
including a pre-cancerous condition of the breast or cervix; 
  (b) are not otherwise covered under creditable coverage, as defined in 
section 2701 (c) of the Public Health Service Act; 
  (c) are not eligible for Medicaid under any mandatory categorically needy 
eligibility group; 
  (d) meet Medicaid citizenship and alienage status; and, 
  (e) have not attained age 65. 
 
 (20) The Plan First waiver extends Medicaid eligibility for family planning 
services to all women of childbearing age 19 through 55 and males age 21 and over (who 
have not had a sterilization procedure performed) with incomes at or below 141% of the 
federal poverty level that would not otherwise qualify for Medicaid. 
 
 (21) Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) of 2010, the law requires that Medicaid 
determine financial eligibility for a specific group of individuals based on Modified 
Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI). This methodology redefines the financial household by 
eliminating the use of certain disregards and utilizing the tax filing status of an applicant. 
 
  Effective January 1, 2014, Alabama Medicaid Agency will apply the MAGI 
methodology to determine the financial eligibility for the following group: 
  (a) Pregnant women with income at or below 141% of the federal poverty 
level 
  (b) Children under age 19 with income at or below 141% of the federal 
poverty level, 
  (c) Women of childbearing age 19 through 55 with income at or below 
141% of the federal poverty level, and 
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  (d) Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives with income at or below 13% of 
the federal poverty level. 
 
  NOTE: A standard income disregard of 5% of the federal poverty level is 
applied if the individual is not eligible for coverage due to excess income. 

  The ACA of 2010 expanded coverage for children who are aging out of foster 
care. Beginning in 2014, eligibility for full Medicaid coverage will be available to former 
foster care children who were enrolled in foster care and Medicaid when they turned 18 
or aged out of foster care and are not yet 26 years old. The former foster care children 
will be treated as a non-modified adjusted gross income group since eligibility is not 
based on income. 
 
 (22) The following coverage is provided by state option under the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (P.L. 117-2 Sections 9812 and 9822). This option expanded 
postpartum coverage from 60 days to 12 months. 
  (a) Individuals who are eligible for and enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP while 
pregnant (including during a period of retroactive eligibility) are eligible for extended 
coverage through the last day of the month in which their 12-month postpartum period 
ends. 
  (b) Individuals eligible for extended postpartum coverage are entitled to 
continuous eligibility regardless of any changes in circumstances through the last day of 
the month in which the 12-month postpartum period ends. 
  (c) Individuals covered under the 12-month postpartum will receive full 
Medicaid and CHIP benefit coverage. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; 20 C.F.R.  Part 416; 42 
C.F.R. Part 435; Section 2361 and 2362 of the Deficit Reduction Act of 1984; the State 
Plan for Medical Assistance, Attachment 2.2A; Section 9501, Public Law 99-272 and 
Section 1905(n)(1)(c) and 1902(e)(5) of the Social Security Act, and Section 12202 of the 
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985; Social Security Act Section 
1634(c), P.L. 99-643 and 99-509, and the SSI Improvement Act of 1986; Public Law 
100-203, Section 9108, 9116, and 9119; and the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 
1988 (Public Law 100-360, Section 301). Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 
Section 6401 of P.L. 101-239.  Section 6408(d) of OBRA 89.  42 CFR 435.231 and 
Section 1611(b)(1).  Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-508), 
Sections 4501, 4603, 5103 and 4601.  P. L. 99-272, Section 9529.  Section 1915(C) and 
Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI). Section 4501(b) of OBRA '90 and 42 CFR 435.222.  
Section 1903(v) of the Social Security Act.  Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and 
Treatment Act (BCCPTA) of 2000 (PL 106-354).  Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act (P.L. 111-148).  American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (P.L. 117-2, Sections 9812 and 
9822). 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended July 1, 1985, July 9, 1985, July 19, 
1985, October 9, 1985, July 1, 1986, September 8, 1986; February 9, 1987; June 10, 
1987, August 10, 1987, January 8, 1988, April 12, 1988, July 1, 1988, July 12, 1988, 
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September 9, 1988, October 1, 1988, January 10, 1989, January 1, 1989, April 14, 1989, 
April 2, 1990, July 14, 1990, June 1, 1990, September 13, 1990, October 9, 1990, 
January15, 1991, January 9, 1991, April 17, 1991, July 13, 1991, October 12, 1991, June 
12, 1992, November 12, 1992, January 13, 1993, March 13, 1993, July 13, 1993, May 1, 
1993, August 12, 1993, February 1, 1998, February 26, 1998, April 13, 1998, and 
September 9, 1998.  Amended: Filed February 16, 1999; effective April 1, 1999.  
Amended: Filed June 19, 2001; effective September 14, 2001.  Amended: Filed 
November 19, 2003; effective February 13, 2004.  Amended: Emergency Rule filed and 
effective October 14, 2008.  Amended: Filed October 20, 2008; effective January 16, 
2009.  Amended: Filed April 20, 2010; effective July 16, 2010.  Amended: Filed 
February 11, 2014; effective March 18, 2014.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; 
effective October 26, 2018.  Amended: Filed May 19, 2023; effective July 15, 2023. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.04.  Application, Initial Determination or Denial of Eligibility, 
and Redetermination of Eligibility. 
 (1) An application is a specific written request on the designated agency 
application form which has been completed, dated and signed (including State acceptable 
electronic signatures) by the applicant and/or applicant's representative or guardian to 
have eligibility for categorical assistance determined. Application is required before an 
individual may be determined eligible for Medicaid benefits. 
 
 (2) Any person completing an application for Medicaid benefits on behalf of 
another must have written authority to do so. If the person being represented is unable to 
sign an authorization, it must be signed by his or her legal guardian, if there is one, or if 
there is none, then by his or her sponsor.  A form entitled, "Appointment of 
Representative," available from the Alabama Medicaid Agency must be completed and 
signed by the applicant's representative. A copy of the form is in Rule 560-X-28-.01(16) 
of this code. 
 
 (3) A determination of eligibility is the process by which the Medicaid Agency's 
worker obtains the facts of the situation of the individual applying for Medicaid or Low 
Income Subsidy (LIS) as related to each factor of eligibility. In the eligibility 
determination process, all facts and information related to eligibility which are alleged by 
the applicant must be substantiated, verified, and documented. 
 
 (4) A redetermination of eligibility must be made by the Medicaid Agency, the 
Department of Human Resources, Alabama Department of Public Health Child Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP), or the Social Security Administration for every Medicaid or 
LIS recipient at least once every twelve months. More frequent redeterminations are 
necessary for recipients whose circumstances are likely to change or from whom 
information indicates conditions have changed. 
 
 (5) When an applicant/recipient fails or refuses to provide needed information 
within his/her capacity, he/she may be denied or terminated from Medicaid or LIS; 
because eligibility cannot be determined or redetermined. 
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 (6) Submission of an application for benefits containing a material misstatement, 
a material omission, or a material false statement shall result in a denial or termination of 
eligibility, as appropriate, under such application or reapplication. 
 
 (7) Any Medicaid eligible child under age 19 who has been correctly determined 
Medicaid eligible is deemed to be eligible for a total of 12 months regardless of changes 
in circumstances other than attainment of the maximum age stated above, as long as the 
child remains a resident of Alabama. 
 
Author: Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; Sections 1935(a), 
1902(a)(66), 1860D-14, and 1905(p)(3); 20 CFR 416; 42 CFR 423.774; 423.904; and 
435. 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended April 15, 1983, July 9, 1985, 
January 8, 1986, January 14, 1987, April 1, 1998, and September 9, 1998.  Amended: 
Filed November 18, 2005; effective February 15, 2006.  Amended: Filed January 21, 
2008; effective April 17, 2008.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 
26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.05.  General Categorical Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1) In order to qualify for Medicaid, AFDC-related and MAGI-related individuals 
must meet the non-financial eligibility criteria of the AFDC or MAGI programs. 
 
 (2) SSI-related individuals must meet general categorical criteria of age, disability 
or blindness, residence, and citizenship for the appropriate coverage groups: 
  (a) Age Requirement - To be eligible, the individual must be 65 years of age 
or older. This factor is based on SSI policy and must be verified based on evidence 
requirements stated in SSI policy. 
  (b) Disability - If under age 65, an individual must be blind or disabled. 
Disability is defined as the inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by 
reason of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment(s) which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. 
  (c) Blindness - An individual meets blindness criteria when his central 
vision acuity is 20-200 or less (even with glasses) or a limited visual field of 20 degrees 
or less in the better eye. A person determined to be blind for purposes of SSI benefits also 
qualifies as blind for purposes of Medicaid. 
  (d) Citizenship - To be eligible for Medicaid, a person must be a citizen of 
the United States, or, if an alien, must be a qualified alien. For qualified aliens arriving 
before 8/22/1996, they must be a lawful permanent resident, American Indian born in 
Canada, refugee, asylee, Cuban/Haitian entrant, battered immigrant, Amerasian, person 
whose deportation has been withheld, honorably discharged veteran, active duty U.S. 
military, person granted parole for 1 year by INS, or person granted conditional entry 
under 203 of the immigration law in effect before 4/1/1980. For qualified aliens arriving 
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on or after 8/22/1996, they must be a refugee, asylee, person whose deportation has been 
withheld, Cuban/Haitian entrant (proceeding groups are eligible for 7 years from date of 
entry), honorably discharged veteran, active duty U. S. military, Amerasian (eligible for 5 
years from date of entry) or lawful permanent resident in U. S. at least 5 years. Aliens 
should have records to establish naturalization or lawful admission. Non-qualifying aliens 
are eligible only for emergency services for treatment of emergency medical conditions. 
  (e) State Resident - A person must be a resident of Alabama during the 
period covered by application, must indicate intent to remain, and must be capable of 
indicating such intent. 
  (f) Interstate Residency Agreements - The only time the above residency 
rule is not applicable is where the state has entered into a residence agreement with 
another state. Where this occurs, the state where the person physically resides is his 
residence for Medicaid purposes. A list of states with which Alabama has entered into 
residency agreements may be obtained from the Alabama Medicaid Agency. 
  (g) Eligibility for Other Benefits - An individual is required to apply for any 
payments or benefits from other sources for which he may be eligible. If an individual is 
already receiving or is entitled to receive benefits from other sources which are in excess 
of agency standards or is receiving benefits under a VA contract, the individual is not 
eligible for Medicaid benefits. 
  (h) Assignment of Third Party Payments - To be eligible for Medicaid, an 
individual must assign all third party benefits to the State. Third Party benefits are any 
benefits for which an entity is or may be liable to pay all or part of the medical cost of an 
applicant or recipient. 
  (i) Eligibility for Medicaid benefits ends with the month in which the 
individual dies. 
  (j) Social Security Account Number - An individual is required to furnish 
his Social Security Account Number or verification that he has made application for one. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles XVI & XIX; 42 C.F.R., Section 401, et 
seq.; 20 C.F.R. Section 401, et seq.; State Plan. 
History:  Rule effective October 1, l982.  Amended March l5, l983, September 8, 1983, 
July 9, 1985, and September 9, 1997.  Amended: Filed September 21, 2001; effective 
December 14, 2001.  Amended: Filed July 19, 2002; effective October 16, 2002.  
Amended: Filed August 21, 2003; effective November 14, 2003.  Amended: Filed 
September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.06.  Financial Eligibility Criteria - Resources. 
 (1) General - In order for an AFDC-related individual to be eligible for Medicaid, 
he or she must meet the AFDC financial criteria in effect in 1996. An SSI-related 
individual or couple must not have total countable resources in excess of $2,000 for an 
individual or $3,000 for a couple. An individual covered under the Qualified Medicare 
Beneficiary Program created by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988, the 
Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiary Program created by the Omnibus Budget 
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Reconciliation Act of 1990, or the Qualifying Individual Programs created by the 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 must not have total countable resources in excess of three 
times the SSI resource limit. Resource standards for Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries, 
Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries and Qualifying Individuals are a federal 
requirement but are not an eligibility requirement for Alabama’s Medicare Savings 
Programs. 
  (a) Liquid vs. Non-liquid Resources. Resources are those assets including 
both real and personal property which an individual or couple possesses. It includes all 
liquid (spendable) assets, as well as non-liquid assets.  Non-liquid resources are assets 
which are neither cash nor financial instruments.  They are resources which cannot be 
converted to cash within 20 days. 
  (b) Income vs. Resources. Income is anything of value an individual/couple 
receives during a month. Resources are the assets such as those described above, which 
the individual/couple already has at the beginning of a month in which eligibility for 
Medicaid is being determined. An item cannot be counted as both income and a resource 
in the same month. 
 
 (2) Minimum exclusions of Non-liquid Resources - The following types of assets 
may be excluded from countable resources under certain conditions: 
  (a) Motor vehicles. An automobile may be excluded to the extent that its 
value does not exceed the amount specified in 20 CFR §416.1218. 
  (b) Life insurance. Life insurance owned by an individual (and spouse, if 
any) may be excluded to the extent provided in 20 CFR §4l6.1230. 
  (c) Household Goods and Personal Effects. Household goods and personal 
effects are totally excluded from countable resources. 
  (d) Burial Funds and Burial Spaces. 
   1. Burial Funds. In determining the resources of an individual (and 
spouse, if any) there shall be excluded an amount not in excess of $1500 each of funds 
designated for burial arrangements of the individual or individual's spouse and which are 
to be used for no other purpose. The applicant/recipient must submit documented 
evidence of the specific designation of burial funds. Each person's $1500 exclusion must 
be reduced by: 
    (i) the face value of insurance policies on the life of an 
individual owned by the individual or spouse if the face value is $1500 or less and the 
cash surrender value of those policies has been excluded from the countable resource 
limit and 
    (ii) amounts in an irrevocable trust (or other irrevocable 
arrangement) available to meet the burial expense. 
   2. Burial spaces. In determining the resources of an individual, the 
value of burial spaces for the individual, the individual's spouse, or any member of the 
individual's immediate family will be excluded from resources. The opening and closing 
of the grave and headstones are considered as burial space items. 
  (e) Real Property. 
   1. Home. If the home is the individual's principal place of residence, 
and if the individual's or his representative's signed statement identifies the reason for 
being away from home and the intent to return to the home, it will be excluded as a 
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resource. If an eligible or ineligible spouse resides in what was the individual's principal 
place of residence prior to institutionalization, it will be excluded as long as the spouse 
continues to live there. Individuals whose equity interest in the home exceed the Home 
Equity Limit published annually by U. S. Department of Health and Human Services 
(HHS) are ineligible for Medicaid long-term care services unless the individual’s spouse, 
child under 21, or child who is blind or permanently and totally disabled resides in the 
home. 
   2. The home may be excluded if a dependent relative is living in the 
home. (For this purpose a relative is defined as: son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, in-
laws, mother, father, stepmother, stepfather, grandmother, grandfather, grandson, 
granddaughter, aunt, uncle, sister, brother, stepsister, stepbrother, half-sister, half-brother, 
niece, nephew, cousin.) Dependency may be of any kind; e.g., financial, medical, etc. If a 
relative, other than a spouse, is living in the home and is not dependent upon the 
claimant, he or she is not a dependent relative, then the home cannot be excluded on this 
basis. The dependency must have been immediately prior to the applicant's admission to 
the nursing home, and the dependent's situation must be checked periodically to 
determine if the dependency continues to exist. 
   3. Jointly-Owned Home Property. Jointly-owned home property will 
be excluded from resources if the sale would cause the other owner undue hardship due 
to the loss of housing. Undue hardship is defined as when; the property serves as the 
principal place of residence for one of the owners; the sale of the property would result in 
the loss of that residence; and no other housing would be readily available for the other 
owner. 
   4. Income-Producing Property. Income-producing property is 
excluded from resources when the equity in the property does not exceed $6,000 and the 
property produces net annual return of at least 6 percent of equity. 
    (i) Where the value of the property is in excess of $6,000, the 
amount in excess can be counted toward the resource limitation as long as the individual 
remains eligible and the property nets at least 6 percent of its equity value per annum. 
    (ii) Where the property is not excluded because the net annual 
return is less than 6 percent of the equity value, the total value is an includable resource. 
    (iii) Where the home is associated with self-support activities, the 
value of the home, contiguous land, and buildings on the land will be excluded. Total 
equity in other assets used for producing income must be $6,000 or less and the activity 
must produce at least 6 percent on the equity. Where the equity value of assets for 
producing income is in excess of $6,000, the amount in excess will be applied to the 
resource limitation. Resources used to produce items only for home consumption or tools 
required by employer are assumed to be netting reasonable rate of return. Property does 
not have to be utilized if it, in combination with other resources, does not exceed the 
liquid resource limit. 
   5. Bona Fide Effort to Sell Interest in Real Property: Real property 
may be excluded as long as a bona fide effort is being made to sell the property. A bona 
fide effort to sell is defined as an attempt to sell through listing with a real estate agent or 
by attempt to sell by the owner. A period in excess of 7 days during which no attempt is 
made to sell voids this exclusion. To qualify for this exclusion, the property must have 
been listed for sale as of the first moment of the month that eligibility is being sought. 
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Applicant must agree to reimburse the Agency for expenses incurred during the effort to 
sell and make prompt repayment after sale. Bona fide effort to sell will be reviewed 
periodically to verify a continuing effort. 
   6. Property that is specifically designated for a Plan of Self-Support 
for the Blind or Disabled, as provided in 20 C.F.R. (Part 416), may be excluded. 
 
 (3) Valuation of Resources - The value of an individual's resources for Medicaid 
eligibility purposes is based upon the individual's equity interest in the resource. Equity is 
defined as the current market value (or fair market value) of the resource less any 
recorded indebtedness against the resource, such as a mortgage or lien. A lien taken by 
the Medicaid Agency under the provisions of 42 U.S.C §1396p and Chapter 33 of this 
Code does not operate to reduce the current market value of the property until such lien 
becomes enforceable in accordance with the terms of the above-cited authorities. 
  (a) In the case of real property, the current market value of the property, for 
Medicaid eligibility purposes, is the appraised value of the property established by the 
current tax assessment notice from the tax assessor's office in the county in which the 
property is located. 
   1. This appraised value will be used unless the tax assessment: 
    (i) Is more than one year old; 
    (ii) Is a special purpose assessment; 
    (iii) Is under appeal; 
    (iv) Is based on a fixed rate per acre method; 
    (v) Does not provide an appraised value or an assessment ratio 
for determining such value; 
   2. Only if one of the above conditions exists, other evidence, such as 
appraisals or estimated from knowledgeable sources, may be used to establish current 
market value. 
  (b) In the case of a life estate or remainder interest in real property, the 
value of the individual's interest is determined by first establishing the current market 
value of the property and then multiplying that value by the appropriate life estate or 
remainder factor, based upon the age of the individual, set forth in the Life Estate and 
Remainder Tables, 26 C.F.R. §20.2031.7. 
   1. The value obtained shall be presumed correct unless the individual 
furnishes clear and convincing evidence establishing a lower value. Such evidence 
includes, but is not limited to: 
    (i) efforts to sell the property interest, as evidenced by such 
factors as the price at which the property interest is offered for sale, marketing and 
advertising exposure given and offers and negotiations; 
    (ii) appraisals of the property interest by knowledgeable and 
experienced sources; 
    (iii) extent and results of negotiations with owners of other 
interests in the property or owners of adjoining property. 
  (c) In the case of entrance fees in a continuing care retirement community 
or life care community the value of the entrance fee shall be considered a resource 
available to the individual to the extent that: 
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   1. The individual has the ability to use the entrance fee, or the 
contract provides that the entrance fee may be used to pay for care should other resources 
or income of the individual be insufficient to pay for such care; 
   2. The individual is eligible for a refund of any remaining entrance 
fee when the individual dies or terminates the continuing care retirement community or 
life care community contract and leaves the community; and 
   3. The entrance fee does not confer an ownership interest in the 
continuing care community or life care community. 
 
 (4) The following are more liberal resource requirements than SSI for 
determining the eligibility of individuals as Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries, Specified 
Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries, and Qualifying Individual-1: 
  (a) All resources of the applicant and the resources of the applicant's spouse 
are excluded. 
  (b) All interest and dividend income is excluded. 
 
 (5) The following are more liberal resource requirements than SSI for 
determining the eligibility of individuals eligible under the institutional Medicaid 
program: 
  (a) The required net annual income of six percent is waived for the excluded 
$6,000.00 in equity value for income-producing property essential to self-support. 
  (b) The consideration of a life estate interest in real property is waived. 
  (c) Cash value of life insurance policies with combined face value less than 
$5,000.00 is excluded. 
  (d) The burial fund exclusion is increased to $5,000.00 
  (e) Commingling of burial funds is allowed. 
  (f) Long-Term Care Insurance Policies issued before March 1, 2009 
   1. Medicaid will not consider resources of a person equal to the 
amount of long-term care insurance benefit payments in determining Medicaid eligibility 
when the long-term care insurance policy has paid at least the first three years of nursing 
home care and/or home health care services. 
   2. The exclusion shall be for the life of the purchaser provided he or 
she maintains obligations pursuant to the long-term care insurance policy. 
   3. Insurance benefit payments made on behalf of a claimant, for 
payment of long-term care services, shall be considered to be expenditure of resources as 
required for eligibility for medical assistance to the extent that the payments are all of the 
following: 
    (i) For services Medicaid approves or covers for its recipients. 
    (ii) In an amount not in excess of the charges of the health 
services provider. 
    (iii) For nursing home care and/or home health care services. 
    (iv) For services delivered after October 1, 1997. 
  (g) Long-Term Care Insurance Policies issued on or after March 1, 2009 
   1. Medicaid will not consider resources equal to the amount of 
benefits paid (dollar-for-dollar) by an Alabama Long-Term Care Insurance Partnership 
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Policy (Partnership Policy) for long-term care services received in determining Medicaid 
eligibility and in estate recovery. 
   2. The amount to be excluded will be above and beyond the standard 
resource exclusion provided under the Medicaid State Plan. To qualify for this exclusion, 
the individual must be covered by a Partnership Policy that has been certified by the 
Alabama Department of Insurance as meeting the following criteria: 
    (i) The policy covers a person who was a resident of Alabama 
when coverage first became effective under the policy. Medicaid will provide reciprocity 
with respect to long-term care insurance policies covered under other state long-term care 
insurance partnerships. The amount of the resource exclusion will equal the resource 
exclusion that would apply to a Partnership Policy issued under the Alabama Long-Term 
Care Partnership Program. 
    (ii) The policy meets the definition of a “qualified long-term care 
insurance policy” found in section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. 
    (iii) The policy meets the specific requirements of the Deficit 
Reduction Act of 2005 and National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 
Long Term Care Insurance Model Regulations and Model Act, as last amended. 
    (iv) The policy includes the following inflation protection: for 
purchasers under 61 years old, compound annual inflation protection; for purchasers 61 
to 76 years old, some inflation protection; and for purchasers 76 years or older, inflation 
protection may be offered but is not required. 
   3. The issue date is the effective date of coverage under the policy. If 
a long-term care insurance policy issued before March 1, 2009 is exchanged after that 
date for a Partnership Policy, the resource exclusion will apply only with respect to 
insurance benefits received under the new Partnership Policy. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; §1902(r)(2); State Plan 
Attachment 2.6-A; Public Law 100-203, Section 9103; and the Medicare Catastrophic 
Coverage Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-360, Section 301); 20 CFR §416.1212 and §416.1218; 
26 CFR §20.2031.7; and 42 CFR §401, et seq., and Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (P.L. 
109-171). 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982, March 15, 1983, May 15, 1983, September 8, 
1983, September 8, 1984, March 11, 1985, September 1, 1985, December 7, 1985, April 
11, 1986, August 11, 1986, August 10, 1987, January 1, 1988, February 9, 1988, August 
1, 1988, November 10, 1988, January 1, 1989, April 14, 1989, July 13, 1991, January 14, 
1992, May 13, 1993, June 1, 1993, August 12, 1993, August 12, 1994, September 1, 
1995, August 14, 1996, November 10, 1997, April 13, 1998 and July 10, 1998.  
Amended: Filed; April 20,1999; effective July 13, 1999.  Amended: Filed June 19, 
2002; effective September 23, 2002.  Amended: Filed August 22, 2005; effective 
November 16, 2005.  Amended: Emergency Rule filed and effective March 21, 2006.  
Amended: Filed May 22, 2006; effective August 16, 2006.  Amended: Filed November 
17, 2008; effective February 11, 2009.  Amended: Filed April 20, 2010; effective July 
16, 2010.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
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Rule No. 560-X-25-.07.  Development of Ownership Interest in Nonliquid Resources 
for SSI-Related Individuals. 
 (1) Ownership interest in Real Property - Establishment of ownership interest 
may be obtained by: 
  (a) Assessment notice; 
  (b) Recent tax file; 
  (c) Current mortgage statement; 
  (d) Deed; 
  (e) Report of title search; 
  (f) Wills, court records, or relationship documents which show rights of an 
heir to the property after death of the former owner. 
 
 (2) The laws of the State of Alabama regarding the validity of deeds, wills, 
mortgages, and other instruments which convey legal title to real property will govern all 
such determination. 
 
 (3) Types of Ownership - The type of ownership in real property is determined by 
the instrument, if any, conveying the real property, and by Alabama law. Ownership 
interests are arising through the death of a spouse or other relative are governed by the 
Alabama laws of descent and distribution and by those Alabama laws providing for the 
spouse and family of a decedent. 
 
Statutory Authority:  State Plan; Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX;  42 C.F.R.  
Section 401, et seq.; 20 C.F.R.  Section 401, et seq. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.08.  Development of Ownership Interest in Liquid Resources for 
SSI-Related Individuals. 
 (1) Cash - Cash on hand is always counted as liquid resource except when it is a 
business asset necessary to the operation of a trade or business that is excluded as 
necessary for self-support or under an approved plan for achieving self-support in the 
case of the blind or disabled. 
 
 (2) Checking, Savings, and Other Accounts – 
  (a) General. 
   These are countable resources if the applicant/recipient has unrestricted 
legal access to the accounts.  This rule applies to individual accounts and joint accounts 
as well as certificates of deposit, savings certificates, and all forms of time deposits, 
whether held individually or jointly. This rule applies to accounts, deposits, etc., in any 
financial institution or being held by any financial or brokerage service or agency. 
  (b) Joint Accounts. 
   1. When only one holder of a joint account is an applicant/recipient 
who has unrestricted access to the funds in the account it is presumed that the 
applicant/recipient owns the total funds in the account. 
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   2. When two or more eligible individuals or applicants are holders of 
the same joint account and each has unrestricted access to the funds in the account it is 
presumed that the eligible individual or applicant owns an equal share of the total funds 
in the account, regardless of the source of the funds. 
   3. Unrestricted access depends upon the legal structure of the 
account. When the accounts reads "or" or "and/or" and the applicant/recipient is legally 
able to withdraw funds from the account, he/she is considered to have unrestricted access 
to the total funds in the account. 
  (c) Rebuttal of Presumption. 
   The opportunity to rebut the presumption of ownership shall be afforded 
all applicants/recipients. In order for an applicant/recipient to rebut successfully the 
presumption of full or partial ownership, all of the following documentation is required: 
   1. A statement by the applicant/recipient on a form 234, giving: 
    (i) His/her allegation regarding no ownership or partial 
ownership of the funds documented by a statement from the financial institution, copy of 
the bank book, account book, certificate of deposit, etc., verifying the language of the 
account, and a copy of the signature card; 
    (ii) The reason for establishing the joint account; 
    (iii) Who made deposits to and withdrawals from the account, and 
how withdrawals were spent, documented with evidence such as wage statements, 
deposit slips, and employer's statements verifying source of deposits and cancelled 
checks; and 
    (iv) Corroborating statements on form 234 from the other account 
holder(s), or, if the co-holder of the joint account is incompetent or a minor, a statement 
from a third party who has knowledge of the circumstances surrounding the 
establishment of the joint account. 
   2. If the rebuttal is successful and it is determined that the funds in 
the account do not belong to the applicant/recipient and should be excluded as a 
countable resource, a change in the account designation removing the 
applicant/recipient's name from the account or restricting access to the account must be 
executed and verification of such submitted as evidence before eligibility can be 
determined. If this change is not made and evidence is not submitted by the 
applicant/recipient within ten (10) days following notification, the presumption of 
ownership will apply. 
 
 (3) Promissory Notes, Loans, and Property Agreements (Mortgages) - Promissory 
notes, loans, and property agreements are considered resources, if the owner has the legal 
right to sell them. If so, the resources should be counted in the amount of the outstanding 
principal balance. 
 
 (4) Trusts - Whether the principal of a trust is a resource to the applicant/recipient 
depends on its availability to the applicant/recipient by the terms of the trust instrument 
itself. 
  Trusts or other similar legal devices may be excluded from consideration as a 
resource. Medicaid shall determine whether the requirements for exclusion expressed in 
the current statutory authorities have been met. 
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 (5) Annuities- A lump sum annuity that can be sold, cashed in, surrendered or 
revoked will be considered a resource in the amount of the current value of the annuity 
unless a lesser value is satisfactorily documented. 
 
 (6) Stocks, Bonds, and Mutual Fund Shares - These are considered countable 
liquid resources according to their market value. 
 
 (7) Life Insurance - The cash surrender value of any life insurance policy owned 
by the applicant/recipient is a countable resource to the extent provided in 20 C.F.R. 
Section 416.1230. 
 
 (8) The foregoing are not intended to be an all-inclusive list of liquid resources.  
Any resource readily convertible into cash may be considered a liquid resource. 
 
Author:  Audrey Middleton, Associate Director, Policy Program Implementation Unit, 
Certification Support Division 
Statutory Authority:  State Plan; Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; 42 C.F.R.  
Section 401, et seq.; 20 C.F.R.  Section 401, et seq; and 42 C.F.R. Section 416. 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended August 10, 1988, and September 9, 
1997.  Amended: Filed November 19, 2003; effective February 13, 2004. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.09.  Transfer of Assets Affecting Eligibility. 
 (1) An individual, or the spouse of such individual, who is an applicant or 
recipient of either institutional Medicaid or home and community-based waiver services, 
who transfers an asset at any time on or after the “look-back date”, as defined in 
paragraph (9)(j), for less than fair market value for the purpose of establishing or 
maintaining eligibility will cause the individual to be charged with the difference between 
the fair market value of the asset and the amount of any compensation received. The 
difference is referred to as uncompensated value and is counted toward the resource limit 
of the individual for a period of time determined in accordance with paragraph (5). 
  (a) When there is an institutionalized married couple and only one applies 
for Medicaid, any transfers of assets for less than fair market value within the “look-back 
date” made by the applicant and /or non-applying spouse affects the applicant’s 
eligibility. In these situations, the applying spouse will incur the entire penalty period. 
  (b) If at a later time the applicant’s spouse, who initially did not apply, 
makes an application, the remaining penalty period would be apportioned between them. 
Any fractional remainder will be served by either spouse. 
 
 (2) When a stream of income or the right to a stream of income, such as an 
annuity, is transferred, Medicaid shall make a determination of the total amount of 
income expected to be transferred during the owner’s life, based on an actuarial 
projection of the owner’s life expectancy as established by federal life expectancy tables, 
and calculate a penalty period based on the projected total income. 
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 (3) A transfer of an asset for less than fair market value is presumed to have been 
for the purpose of establishing or maintaining Medicaid eligibility unless the individual 
presents convincing evidence that the transfer was exclusively for some other purpose, in 
accordance with paragraph (7). 
 
 (4) Any individual who fails to disclose in an application a transfer of assets 
which occurred on or after the “look-back date” or who fails to report a transfer which 
occurs after eligibility is awarded, or who receives Medicaid benefits prior to discovery 
of a transfer of assets in violation of this rule shall be subject to recoupment action and 
suspension of benefits pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, § 22-6-8 and Chapters 4 and 
33 of this Administrative Code.  Such individual and/or his representative may also be 
subject to criminal prosecution under Code of Alabama 1975, § 22-1-11 and § 1128B of 
the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7b). 
 
 (5) Penalty Period for Transfers of Assets Occurring Within the “Look-Back 
Date.” 
  (a) This period is applicable to nursing facility services as defined in the 
State Plan, a level of care in any institution equivalent to that of nursing facility services 
as defined in the State Plan, and home and community-based waiver services. 
  (b) The total, cumulative uncompensated value of the assets transferred on 
or after the “look-back date” will be divided by the average monthly cost to a private 
patient for nursing facility services in the state (at the time of application) as determined 
by Medicaid. This quotient, minus the fractional remainder, shall be the number of 
months the uncompensated value is counted. The fractional remainder shall be converted 
to a dollar figure and added to the individual’s liability. This penalty period shall begin 
the month of transfer, or the first month in which the individual is eligible for medical 
assistance under the State Plan and would otherwise be receiving institutional level care 
based on an approved application for such care but for the application of the penalty 
period, whichever is later, and which does not occur during any other period of 
ineligibility under this Rule. 
 
 (6) Transfers Not Considered. An individual shall not be ineligible for medical 
assistance to the extent that: 
  (a) The assets transferred were a home and title to the home was transferred 
to: 
   1. the individual's spouse; 
   2. the individual’s child who is under age 21, or who is blind or 
permanently and totally disabled; 
   3. the individual’s sibling who has an equity interest in such home 
and who has been residing in such individual's home for a period of at least one year 
immediately before the date such individual becomes an institutionalized individual; or 
   4. the individual’s son or daughter (other than a child described in 
paragraph (6)(a)2. above) who was residing in such individual's home for a period of at 
least two years immediately before the date such individual becomes an institutionalized 
individual, and who (as determined by Medicaid) provided care to such individual which 
permitted such individual to reside at home rather than in such an institution or facility. 
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  (b) The assets— 
   1. were transferred: 
    (i) to the individual’s spouse or to another for the sole benefit of 
the individual's spouse; 
    (ii) from the individual’s spouse to another for the sole benefit of 
the individual’s spouse; or 
    (iii) to the individual's child who is blind or permanently and 
totally disabled or to another for the sole benefit of the individual’s child who is blind or 
permanently and totally disabled. 
   2. All assets transferred must be spent only for the sole benefit of the 
individual’s spouse or the individual’s child who is blind or permanently and totally 
disabled within a time frame actuarially commensurate with the life expectancy of the 
beneficiary of the transferred assets. 
  (c) A satisfactory showing is made to Medicaid that the individual intended 
to dispose of the assets either at fair market value, or for other valuable consideration, or 
the assets were transferred exclusively for a purpose other than to qualify for Medicaid. 
  (d) Medicaid determines that denial of eligibility would work an undue 
hardship. 
  (e) The assets were transferred to a trust which is determined to be exempt 
from consideration under § 1917(d) of the Social Security Act. 
  (f) All assets transferred on or after the “look-back date” for less than fair 
market value have been returned to the individual. A return of the assets may cause 
ineligibility based on excess resources. 
 
 (7) Rebuttal. The burden is upon the individual to rebut the presumption that a 
transfer of an asset was made for the purpose of establishing or maintaining Medicaid 
eligibility by furnishing Medicaid with convincing evidence that the asset was transferred 
exclusively for some other purpose. Convincing evidence may be pertinent documentary 
or non-documentary evidence which shows, for example, that the transfer was ordered by 
a court, or that at the time of transfer the individual could not have anticipated becoming 
eligible due to the existence of other circumstances which would have precluded 
eligibility. A subjective statement of intent or ignorance of the provisions of this Rule is 
not sufficient, by itself, to rebut the presumption raised. 
 
 (8) Undue Hardship 
  (a) In situations where an individual has admitted that an asset has been 
transferred for less than fair market value for the purpose of obtaining Medicaid benefits, 
the Agency may still grant an exemption from the penalty period where the individual 
demonstrates by clear and convincing evidence that the imposition of such a penalty will 
cause the individual to suffer undue hardship. Undue hardship will only be considered in 
extreme cases where the individual has been denied admission to or discharged from an 
institutional facility or denied home and community-based waiver services under 
circumstances which would deprive the individual of medical care such that the 
individual’s health or life would be endangered, or of food, clothing, shelter, or other 
necessities of life. Undue hardship does not exist where a transfer penalty causes an 
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individual or the individual’s family to experience inconvenience or would cause an 
individual to restrict his/her lifestyle. 
  (b) In determining the existence of "undue hardship" Medicaid will consider 
all circumstances involving the transfer and the situation of the individual, including but 
not limited to, the following: 
   1. Whether the individual has been determined to be a person in need 
of care and protection pursuant to the Adult Protective Services Act, Code of Alabama 
1975, § 38-9-1, et seq.; 
   2. Whether the individual or his representative has exhausted all 
reasonable efforts to obtain a return of, or compensation for, the transferred asset, 
including voiding the transfer pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, § 35-1-2 or § 8-9-12, 
or diligently prosecuting other criminal or civil action available to recover the asset; 
   3. Whether the individual was deprived of an asset by fraud or 
misrepresentation. Such claims must be documented by official police reports or civil 
and/or criminal legal actions against the perpetrator; 
   4. Whether the individual or his representative has exhausted all 
reasonable efforts to meet the individual’s needs from other available sources. 
  (c) When a penalty period is imposed, the Notice of Action will include 
notice that the individual or authorized representative may, as part of the review process, 
request an undue hardship exemption. The written request for an undue hardship 
exemption must be received be Medicaid within 60 days from the date the notice of 
action is mailed. A denied request may be appealed in accordance with Chapter 3 of this 
Code. 
 
 (9) Definitions. As used in this rule: 
  (a) "Transfer" is, and occurs at the time, when an individual or spouse (or a 
parent, guardian, court or administrative body, or anyone acting in place of or on behalf 
of or at the request or direction of the individual or spouse), by either affirmative act or 
failure to act, loses or relinquishes all rights of legal access to an asset or interest therein. 
  (b) "Compensation" is all money, real or personal property, food, shelter or 
services received by the individual or spouse at or after the time of transfer in exchange 
for the asset in question. Money, real or personal property, food, shelter or services 
received prior to the transfer are compensation only if they were provided pursuant to a 
legally enforceable agreement (i.e., personal service agreement, etc.) to provide such 
items in exchange for the asset in question. Services provided pursuant to a personal 
service agreement are compensation only if all the criteria set forth in paragraph (9)(k) of 
this rule are met. Payment or assumption of a legal debt owed by the individual or spouse 
in exchange for the asset is also compensation. 
  (c) "Fair market value" is the current market value of an asset at the time of 
the transfer or contract of sale, if earlier. Current market value shall be determined in 
accordance with Rule 560-X-25-.06(3), except that if a remainder interest in property is 
transferred, whether or not a life estate is retained, the uncompensated value will be based 
on the fair market value of the entire property at the time of the transfer or contract of 
sale, if earlier. 
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  (d) "Uncompensated value" is the fair market value of the asset minus the 
amount of any compensation received by the individual or eligible spouse in exchange 
for the asset. 
  (e) A "home" is any shelter in which the individual (and spouse, if any) has 
an ownership interest and which is used by the individual (and spouse, if any) as his 
principal place of residence. The home includes any land that appertains thereto and any 
related outbuildings necessary to the operation of the home. 
  (f) The "month of application" is the month in which the original, initial 
application of an individual is received and accepted by the Medicaid Agency. 
  (g) "Assets" are all income or resources of the individual or the individual's 
spouse. This term includes income or resources which the individual or individual's 
spouse is or was entitled to but does not receive. With respect to transfer of assets, the 
term "assets" also includes the following: 
   1. An annuity purchased by or on behalf of the individual and will be 
treated as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value unless: 
    (i) the annuity is— 
     (I) an annuity described in subsection (b) or (q) of § 408 of 
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986; or 
     (II) purchased with proceeds from— 
      I. an account or trust described in subsection (a), (c), 
(p) of § 408 of such Code; 
      II. a simplified employee pension (within the 
meaning of § 408(k) of such Code); or 
      III. a Roth IRA described in § 408A of such Code; or 
    (ii) the annuity— 
     (I) is irrevocable and non-assignable; 
     (II) is actuarially sound (as determined in accordance with 
actuarial publications of the Office of the Chief Actuary of the Social Security 
Administration); and 
     (III) provides for payments in equal amounts during the term 
of the annuity, with no deferral and no balloon payments made; and, 
    (iii) in the annuity— 
     (I) the State is named as the remainder beneficiary in the 
first position for at least the total amount of medical assistance paid on behalf of the 
annuitant; or 
     (II) the State is named as such beneficiary in the second 
position after the community spouse or minor or disabled child and is named in the first 
position if such spouse or a representative of such child disposes of any such remainder 
for less than fair market value 
   2. The purchase of a life estate interest in another individual's home 
will be treated as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value unless: 
    (i) the purchase— 
     (I) was made by the individual who resides in the home 
continuously for a period of at least one (1) year after the date of the purchase; and 
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     (II)price is actuarially sound (as determined in accordance 
with actuarial publications of the Office of the Chief Actuary of the Social Security 
Administration). 
    (ii) Any purchase price less than the actuarially sound purchase 
price will be treated as a transfer of assets for less than fair market value under the 
provisions of this Rule. 
   3. Funds used to purchase a promissory note, loan, or mortgage will 
be treated as disposal of assets for less than fair market value unless: 
    (i) such promissory note, loan, or mortgage— 
     (I) has a repayment term that is actuarially sound (as 
determined in accordance with actuarial publications of the Office of the Chief Actuary 
of the Social Security Administration); 
     (II) provides for payments to be made in equal amounts 
during the term of the loan, with no deferral and no balloon payments made; and 
     (III) prohibits the cancellation of the balance upon the death 
of the lender. 
    (ii) In the case of a promissory note, loan, or mortgage that does 
not satisfy the requirements of clauses (I) through (III), the value of such promissory 
note, loan, or mortgage shall be the outstanding balance due as of the date of the 
individual's application for institutional or home and community-based waiver services. 
  (h) A transfer is considered to be "for the sole benefit of" a spouse, or a 
blind or disabled child, if the transfer is arranged in such a way that no individual or 
entity, except the spouse or the blind or disabled child, can benefit from the assets 
transferred in any way, whether at the time of the transfer or any time in the future. 
  (i) "Institutionalized individual" is an individual who is: 
   1. An inpatient in a nursing facility; 
   2. An inpatient in a medical institution (including an intermediate 
care facility for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID), as defined in 42 
C.F.R. § 435.1009) for whom payment is based on a level of care provided in a nursing 
facility; or 
   3. Determined eligible for home and community-based services and 
who would otherwise require the level of care provided in a nursing facility or medical 
institution. 
  (j) "Look-back date" for an institutionalized individual is the date that is 60 
months immediately prior to the later of the first day of the month of the original, initial 
application. For individuals receiving home and community-based waiver services, the 
“look-back date” is the date that is 60 months immediately prior to the later of the first 
day of the month of the original, initial application or the first day of the month in which 
the individual disposes of assets for less than fair market value. For transfers relating to 
trusts, annuities, or similar legal instruments, the “look-back date” is 60 months. 
  (k) "Personal Service Agreement" is a legally enforceable written agreement 
for personal care services to be provided in exchange for anything of value. A transfer of 
assets is presumed to have occurred at the time of the exchange and a transfer penalty 
shall be imposed unless all of the following are met: 
   1. At the time of the receipt of the services, the services were 
recommended in writing and signed by the applicant’s physician, as necessary to prevent 
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the admission of the applicant to a nursing facility. Such services may not include the 
providing of companionship and related services; 
   2. At the time of the receipt of the services, the applicant was not 
residing in a nursing facility; 
   3. At the time of the receipt of the services, the transfer of the 
consideration (money and/or property) to the provider/relative occurred; and 
   4. At the time of the receipt of the services there already existed a 
written and signed agreement executed between the applicant and provider for the 
specific service(s) rendered. 
    (i) The agreement executed between the applicant and 
provider/relative must fully describe the type, frequency and duration of the services 
being provided to the applicant in such a way that they can be documented when 
provided; and the amount of consideration (money and/or property) being received by the 
provider/relative. 
    (ii) The agreement executed between the applicant and 
provider/relative must provide that the amount of consideration (money and/or property) 
cannot exceed the fair market value for that rendered service(s). Rates for these services 
must be shown to be comparable to the usual and customary rates in the local area. The 
fair market value of the services may be determined by consultation with an area business 
which provides such services. 
    (iii) Services that are provided pursuant to a valid personal 
services agreement must be documented with time sheets and attendance logs for each 
hour of services provided. Contracts cannot provide for a “lump sum” payment regardless 
of the services that are to be provided, as each service must be individually documented 
to be justified. 
    (iv) Payment must only be for actual services rendered. Any 
reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses incurred by the caregiver must be documented 
by a receipt. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, §1613, and §1917; 20 C.F.R. §416.1246; 42 
C.F.R. 430 Subpart B; Code of Alabama, 1975, §35-1-2 and §8-9-12; State Plan; 
Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988 (Public Law 100-360, Section 303); 
Section 608(d) of the Family Support Act; and Section 13611 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1993; and Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (P.L. 109-171). 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Repealed and new rule adopted in lieu thereof 
effective June 9, 1986.  Amended January 14, 1987.  Emergency Rule effective 
September 30, 1988.  Repealed and new rule adopted in lieu thereof effective January 10, 
1989.  Amended June 16, 1989; and May 14, 1991.  Emergency Rule effective June 1, 
1993.  Amended August 12, 1993 and July 11, 1995, and January 11, 1996.  Amended:  
Filed November 19, 2003; effective February 13, 2004.  Amended: Filed March 22, 
2004; effective July 1, 2004.  Amended: Emergency rule filed and effective March 21, 
2006.  Amended: Filed May 22, 2006; effective August 16, 2006.  Amended: Filed 
March 20, 2008; effective June 16, 2008.  Amended: Filed July 12, 2013; effective 
August 16, 2013.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
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Rule No. 560-X-25-.10.  Income Criteria for Individuals in Institutions and Home 
and Community-Based Waivers. 
 (1) The income limit for the institutional Medicaid program and certain home and 
community-based waiver programs is determined by the Agency and published in the 
State Plan for Medical Assistance. The income limit is equal to 300 percent of the current 
SSI benefit amount payable to an individual in his own home who has no income. 
 
 (2) The income limit for certain recipients of home and community-based waiver 
services who are eligible for Medicaid solely because they require and receive services 
under a home and community-based services waiver is the SSI federal benefit rate plus 
the $20.00 general disregard. 
 
 (3) Rules in 20 C.F.R. 416 Subpart K govern types of countable income and 
income exclusions except as further limited by §36-27-21.1 of the Code of Alabama 
(1975). 
 
 (4) In determining the amount of income an individual has to apply to his cost of 
care in an institution, the following are deducted: 
  (a) amounts of income protected for personal needs subject to the limits as 
set forth in the Agency State Plan, Attachment 2.6-A. 
  (b) amounts of income protected for the maintenance needs of the ineligible 
spouse and dependents living outside the facility. 
  (c) amounts of income protected for health insurance premiums that are 
paid by the applicant/recipient. 
  (d) amounts of income for incurred necessary medical or remedial care 
recognized under state law but not covered under the State’s Medicaid Plan, nor subject 
to payment by Medicare or any other third party health insurance including Medicare 
premiums, deductibles and coinsurance. 
   1. The incurred necessary medical or remedial care must be 
determined to be medically necessary. All verification needed to make the determination 
of medical necessity and to allow the deduction must be furnished to the agency within 
six months of the date of the service. 
   2. A deduction for expenses incurred for medically necessary non-
covered medical or remedial care will be allowed based on the lesser of the Medicaid 
rate, the Medicare rate, or reasonable and customary charges. 
   3. A deduction for incurred medically necessary non-covered medical 
or remedial care expenses will be allowed when the bill is incurred during a period which 
is no more than three months prior to the month of current application. 
   4. The deduction for medical and remedial care expenses that were 
incurred as the result of imposition of a transfer of assets penalty period is limited to zero. 
   5. A deduction for initial or replacement dentures will be allowed for 
those meeting Agency established medical necessity criteria. 
   6. A deduction for hearing aids will be allowed for those meeting 
Agency established medical necessity criteria. 
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   7. A deduction from the individual’s income for incurred necessary 
medical or remedial care is only applicable when the individual has available income to 
allow for an offset (liability amount to the nursing home is greater than zero). 
 
 (5) The following are more liberal income requirements than SSI for determining 
the eligibility of individuals as Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries, Specified Low Income 
Medicare Beneficiaries, and Qualifying Individuals-1: 
  (a) The consideration of in-kind income support and maintenance in the 
income calculation is waived. 
  (b) Fluctuating income may be averaged for the past six months and 
projected for twelve months. 
  (c) Interest and dividend income is excluded. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  State Plan; Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; 1902(r)(2); 
42 CFR §401, et seq.; Code of Alabama, 36-27-21-.1; and 42 CFR, §435.725.  42 CFR 
435.231; 42 CFR 435.726; Section 1611(b)(1); Section 1915(c) and Section 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI). 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended November 10, 1983; July 9, 1984; 
July 9, 1985; January 8, 1988; April 12, 1988; July 13, 1990; October 9, 1990; January 
15, 1991; July 13, 1991; November 12, 1992; May 1, 1993; and August 12, 1993.  
Amended:  Filed February 17, 2006; effective May 16, 2006.  Amended: Filed May 22, 
2006; effective August 16, 2006.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective 
October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.11.  Additional Criteria for Institutional Care. 
 (1) In addition to the rules covered in Rule 560-X-25-.05 through .11 the 
following criteria must also be met for an individual to qualify for Medicaid in a Title 
XIX institution: 
  (a) The individual must be certified as needing the level of care received in 
an institution and as having a continuing need for institutionalized care. 
  (b) The individual must be in a facility certified to participate in the 
Medicaid program and which has a current provider agreement with the Medicaid 
Agency. 
 
 (2) In order for an individual institutionalized in a hospital or nursing home to 
qualify for the maximum income limit allowed for institutionalized Medicaid recipients, 
as described in Rule No. 560-X-25-.10, the individual must have been a resident of a 
Title XIX medical institution for 30 consecutive days or longer. 
  (a) Being a resident of an institution for 30 consecutive days means being a 
resident for the period beginning with day one until the last instant of the 30th 
consecutive day. 
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Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Title XIX, 42 C.F.R. Section 401, et seq.; 
State Plan; Chapter 10 this Code.  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended March 15, 
1983.  Effective date of this amendment August 10, 1987. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.12.  Periods of Entitlement. 
 (1) The earliest date of entitlement for Medicaid is the first day of the month of 
application for assistance under one of the categorical programs, provided the individual 
meets all factors of eligibility for that month. The individual who is eligible on the first 
day of the month is entitled to Medicaid for the full month. 
 
 (2) An exception to (1), above, is Retroactive Medicaid Coverage. Individuals 
who have incurred medical expenses for the three months immediately preceding the 
month of application for Medicaid or the three months prior to the receipt of the first SSI 
check (for SSI cases), may become eligible for Medicaid benefits during that time 
provided all eligibility requirements are met for each month. 
 
Author: Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act, Titles XVI and XIX; 42 CFR §435.914; State 
Plan.  Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PL 111–148). 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended: March 11, 1986; January 14, 1987, 
September 13, 1990 and November 12, 1993.  Effective date of this amendment January 
12, 1998.  Amended: Filed February 11, 2014, effective March 18, 2014.  Amended: 
Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.13.  Adults in Need of Protective Services. 
 For adults in need of protective services (as defined by Code of Alabama (1975) 
Section 38-9-2, et seq.), property may be excluded during the period from the date the 
petition is filed to the date of the court order, but in no event for a period to exceed 120 
days. 
 
Author:  Aljanetta C. Rugley, Policy/Research Specialist, Policy and Program 
Implementation, Certification Support Division 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama (1975) Section 38-9-2, et seq. 
History:  Rule effective October 1, 1982.  Amended: Filed May 22, 2001; effective 
August 16, 2001. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.14.  Pregnant Women and Children age 0 – 18 With Income 
Equal To or Below 141%. 
 (1) Pregnant women are defined as “women who are pregnant or post-partum, 
with household income at or below 141% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL)”. 
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  Medicaid coverage under MAGI-related coverage groups is available for 
pregnant women meeting the requirements listed below: 
  (a) The household income must be equal to or less than 141% of the current 
federal poverty level. A standard income disregard of 5% of the federal poverty level is 
applied if the individual is not eligible for coverage due to excess income. 
  (b) Self-attestation must be accepted for pregnancy unless there is 
information that is not reasonably compatible with such attestation. 
  (c) The individual must be pregnant or post-partum. 
  (d) The person to be covered must be living in Alabama and must be a 
United States citizen or meet alienage requirements. 
  (e) Any private insurance benefits must be assigned to the State. 
  (f) Application must be made for any other benefits for which the person's 
family appears eligible. 
  (g) Changes in income and/or living arrangements must be reported at 
annual review. 
  (h) The person to be covered must furnish or apply for a Social Security 
number. 
 
 (2) Children age 0 -18 are defined as “infants and children under age 19 with 
household income at or below 141% of the Federal Poverty Level”. 
 
  Medicaid coverage under poverty provisions is available to children age 0 -18 
with income at or below 141% of the Federal Poverty Level meeting the requirements 
listed below: 
  (a) The household income must be equal to or less than 141% of the current 
federal poverty level.  A standard income disregard of 5% of the federal poverty level is 
applied if the individual is not eligible for coverage due to excess income. 
  (b) The child must be 0 – 18 years old. 
  (c) Children’s eligibility will continue through the month of their 19th 
birthday. 
  (d) The child to be covered must be living in Alabama and must be a United 
States citizen or meet alienage requirements. 
  (e) Any private insurance benefits must be assigned to the State. 
  (f) Application must be made for any other benefits for which the person's 
family appears eligible. 
  (g) Changes in income and/or living arrangements must be reported at 
annual review. 
  (h) The person to be covered must furnish or apply for a Social Security 
number. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Service 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Section 6401 of P.L. 101-239, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1989 (OBRA 89).  Section 4601 of P.L. 101-508, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1990 (OBRA 90), and 42 CFR 435.116, 435.118. 
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History:  Emergency Rule effective September 1, 1991.  Permanent rule effective 
December 12, 1991.  Amended: Filed February 19, 1999; effective April 1, 1999.  
Amended: Filed October 19, 2001; effective January 16, 2002.  Amended: Filed April 
19, 2002; effective July 17, 2002.  Amended: Emergency Rule Filed and effective April 
9, 2003.  Amended: Filed April 21, 2003; effective July 16, 2003.  Amended: Filed 
February 11, 2014; effective March 18, 2014.  Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; 
effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.15.  Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives and Transitional 
Medical Assistance. 
 (1) Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives (POCR) 
  (a) Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives is a Medicaid eligibility coverage 
group available to parents and other caretaker relatives of dependent children with 
household income at or below 13% of the federal poverty level (FPL). POCR also 
includes qualified pregnant women without other children whose family income falls 
within the standards for POCR. A standard income disregard of 5% of the federal poverty 
level is applied if the individual is not eligible for coverage due to excess income. 
  (b) The POCR must be related to the dependent child by blood, adoption, or 
marriage, with whom the dependent child lives, and who has primary responsibility for 
the dependent child’s care.  An all-inclusive list of POCR relationships includes: 
   1. The dependent child’s father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, 
brother, sister, stepfather, stepmother, stepbrother, stepsister, uncle, aunt, first cousin, 
nephew or niece; 
   2. The spouse of such POCR, even after the marriage ends due to 
divorce or death. 
  (c) A “dependent child” is defined as a child who is under the age of 19. 
  (d) Self-attestation must be accepted to verify the POCR relationship for 
caretaker relatives unless there is information that is not reasonably compatible with such 
attestation. In such cases, the following documents are acceptable to verify POCR 
relationship: 
   1. Primary sources: Birth record, school records, sworn, notarized or 
witnessed statement of applicant/recipient, affidavit of paternity, hospital birth record, 
court orders signed by the judge where the relationship is acknowledged as claimed and 
there is no evidence to the contrary. If there are no primary sources to verify the POCR 
relationship, then the combination of both a Declaration of Natural Relationship Form 
made by the applicant/recipient or other persons with knowledge of the relationship and a 
secondary source to verify the POCR relationship. 
   2. Secondary sources: Insurance policy, other agency records, 
(example Red Cross, SSA, Census records, VA, Department of Senior Services records, 
Department of Human Resources), bible records, income tax records, official records, 
(example school report card, juvenile court), other hospital records, clinic or Health 
Department records, church records, military records, statement from a minister, priest or 
rabbi, baptismal certificate or other. 
  (e) Technical Requirements: 
   1. The dependent child must be living in the home of the POCR. 
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   2. The dependent child must be under age 19. 
   3. The dependent child must be a U.S. citizen or an alien in 
satisfactory immigration status. 
   4. The POCR caretaker must cooperate with the Department of 
Human Resources and Alabama Medicaid Agency in Medical Support Enforcement 
Activities and in Third Party Medical Liability Activities unless good cause for not 
cooperating is determined. 
   5. When application is made for a dependent child the POCR who 
cares for the dependent child automatically assigns to the State all medical insurance or 
medical support benefits to the extent medical assistance is provided to both the 
dependent child and the POCR. 
   6. The POCR must furnish all Social Security numbers for everyone 
in the household or apply for a Social Security number for anyone who does not have a 
number and furnish the number upon receipt. (These numbers will be used in addition to 
any other means of identification in the administration of the program as provided for in 
Section 402(a)(25) of the Social Security Act). The number provided will be used in 
computer matches, program reviews and audits. Eligibility and income information will 
be requested regularly from the Internal Revenue Service, Social Security 
Administration, Alabama Department of Industrial Relations and other public and private 
organizations. 
   7. The POCR must apply for any other benefits for which they or 
other members of the household appear to be eligible, such as Veteran Benefits, Social 
Security, Unemployment Compensation, etc. 
  (f) The Agency uses less restrictive income and resource methodologies 
than those in effect as of July 16, 1996, as follows: 
   1. Resources are excluded. 
   2. Gifts and inheritance are considered excluded income. 
 
 (2) Transitional Medical Assistance (TMA) 
  (a) When a household loses eligibility for Medicaid benefits under the 
POCR coverage group due wholly or partly to the collection of increased earnings or 
hours of employment, the household is entitled to twelve (12) continuance months of 
Transitional Medical Assistance (TMA), provided that: 
   1. Medicaid benefits under the POCR coverage group were 
terminated due wholly or partly to the POCR’s increased earnings or hours of 
employment; 
   2. The household correctly received Medicaid benefits under the 
POCR coverage group in Alabama for at least three (3) of the six (6) months immediately 
prior to the first month of ineligibility; and 
   3. There is a child under 19 in the home. 
  (b) When a household loses eligibility for Medicaid benefits under the 
POCR coverage group due wholly or partly to the collection or increased collection of 
spousal support, the household is entitled to four (4) continuous months (and children are 
eligible for twelve (12) continuous months) of Extended Medicaid coverage, provided 
that both: 
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   1. Medicaid benefits under the POCR coverage group were 
terminated due wholly or partly to the POCR’s collection or increased collection of 
spousal support; and 
   2. The household (or any member of the household) correctly 
received Medicaid benefits under the POCR coverage group in Alabama for at least three 
(3) of the six (6) months immediately prior to the first month of ineligibility. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy and Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act 
of 1996. 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I) and 1931(b) and (d) of the Act, 42 C.F.R. 435.110, 42 
C.F.R. 435.112,  408(a)(11)(B) and 1931(c)(1) of the Act, 408(a)(11)(A), 1902(a)(52), 
1902(e)(1)(B), 1925, and 1931(c)(2) of the Act, 1902(a)(52), 1902(e)(1)(B), and 1925 of 
the Act. 
History:  Emergency Rule Filed and Effective April 9, 2003.  Amended: Filed April 21, 
2003; effective July 16, 2003.  Amended: Filed February 11, 2014, effective March 18, 
2014.  Amended: Filed June 11, 2015; effective July 16, 2015.  Amended: Filed 
September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.16.  Income and Resources of a Married Couple for Institutional 
Care. 
 (1) The Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act (MCCA) of 1988 provides for the 
special treatment of income and resources of a married couple. The special treatment is to 
protect the income and resources for the maintenance needs of the community spouse 
while the spouse is in a medical institution or nursing facility. In determining Medicaid 
eligibility for an institutionalized spouse, the provisions of this section supersede any 
other inconsistent provisions of this chapter, including the determination of income and 
resources. 
 
 (2) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply: 
  (a) SPOUSE - Person legally married to another under State law. The SSI 
definition as applied to the QMB/SLMB cases is not applicable to spousal cases. Legal 
marriage is a traditional marriage conducted by legal authority or a common law 
marriage recognized by a court and entered into prior to January 1, 2017. 
  (b) INSTITUTIONALIZED SPOUSE (IS) - Legally married person who 
resides in a medical institution or nursing facility and can reasonably be expected to 
continue to reside in the medical institution or nursing facility for a continuous period. 
  (c) COMMUNITY SPOUSE (CS) - Legally married person who is not 
living in a medical institution or nursing facility, and has a spouse residing in a medical 
institution or nursing facility for a continuous period. 
  (d) CONTINUOUS PERIOD OF INSTITUTIONALIZATION - At least 30 
consecutive days of institutionalization in qualified medical institutions and/or nursing 
facilities. 
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  (e) OTHERWISE AVAILABLE INCOME - Income that would be used to 
determine eligibility without benefit of disregards (including federal, state and local 
taxes) - gross income as defined by SSI. 
  (f) MAINTENANCE NEEDS STANDARDS - Income standards against 
which community spouses' and other family members' incomes are compared for 
purposes of determining the amount that can be allocated in the post-eligibility 
calculation. 
  (g) MONTHLY MAINTENANCE NEEDS ALLOWANCE - The minimum 
income the community spouse is entitled to have each month. This is an amount deducted 
in the post-eligibility calculation of income for maintenance needs of the community 
spouse (if both spouses agree to the allocation) or other dependent family members to 
meet their needs in the community. 
  (h) SPOUSAL SHARE - The set total value amount of resources protected 
for the community spouse. The Spousal Share is the greater of the Minimum Protected 
Resource Amount or one-half of the total value of the married couple’s combined 
countable resources, not to exceed the Maximum Protected Resource Amount. 
 
 (3) Protecting Income and Resources for the Community Spouse. 
  (a) A monthly maintenance needs allowance can be protected for the 
community spouse and family dependents at home. 
  (b) Spousal Impoverishment - To determine eligibility for an 
institutionalized spouse who has a community spouse, all resources, whether owned 
jointly or individually by either spouse, must be “pooled” beginning with the point that a 
spouse was institutionalized to perform a Spousal Assessment. A Spousal Assessment 
must be conducted at both the beginning of the first continuous period of 
institutionalization and at the time of application for Medicaid benefits. A Spousal 
Assessment will calculate the total value amount of both the resources available to the 
institutionalized spouse and the protected Spousal Share of the community spouse. A 
Spousal Assessment is to be completed at the request of either of the married couple, an 
authorized representative acting on behalf of either spouse, or at the time of application 
for Medicaid benefits.  A Spousal Assessment is to be accomplished in a prompt manner. 
  (c) When a married couple is both institutionalized and both apply, each is 
treated as individuals rather than as a couple. Treatment as individuals begins as of the 
first day of the month following the month both are institutionalized. Spousal 
impoverishment rules do not apply and an assessment of resources shall not be 
conducted. 
  (d) If a married couple is institutionalized and only one applies for 
Medicaid, they are treated as individuals as of the beginning of the first full month of 
separation. Income and assets of the ineligible spouse must be deemed during the partial 
month. 
  (e) Spousal impoverishment rules apply to legally married couples when 
one enters a medical institution or nursing facility while the other remains in the 
community. The institutionalized spouse must remain in an institution for 30 continuous 
days or longer. 
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  (f) Spousal impoverishment does not apply if a claimant is not legally 
married at the time he/she enters the medical institution or nursing facility, unless he or 
she subsequently marries. 
  (g) If there is a change in circumstances such that there is no community 
spouse or institutional spouse, spousal impoverishment provisions cease to apply. The 
effective date of the cessation is the first full month following the change in status, for 
example, the community spouse enters a medical institution or nursing facility; or if the 
marriage is ended by death, divorce or annulment. 
  (h) In order for spousal impoverishment rules to apply there must be a 
community spouse both at the point of institutionalization and at the point of application. 
  (i) If the claimant marries after the initial determination of eligibility, 
spousal rules apply. The resource assessment is computed based on the assets owned by 
the couple, individually or jointly, at the beginning of the institutionalized spouse's most 
recent continuous period of institutionalization even though that point precedes the point 
in time where there is a known community spouse. 
  (j) If both spouses enter an institution at the same time, but one spouse 
returns to the community, an assessment must be completed. The assessment is computed 
based on the resources owned by the couple (individually or jointly) at the beginning of 
the institutionalized spouse's most recent continuous period of institutionalization, even 
though both spouses were institutionalized at that point. 
 
 (4) When a claimant for Medicaid was divorced during the look-back period (60 
months), the district office should review the divorce settlement.  If the claimant did not 
receive an equal share of the marital estate, it may be considered a transfer of resources. 
 
 (5) Treatment of Income - The following rules apply in determining ownership of 
income for eligibility purposes: 
  (a) Consider available to each spouse one-half of any income paid in the 
name of both spouses, 
  (b) Consider any income paid solely to each spouse as income to that 
spouse, 
  (c) Consider income paid in the name of another party and both spouses, or 
one spouse, available to each spouse in proportion to each spouse's interest (or one-half 
of the total amount to each when payment is made to both spouses), 
  (d) Consider available to each spouse, one-half of any income that has no 
instrument establishing ownership. The institutionalized spouse is allowed to submit 
evidence to Medicaid to rebut the determination of available income (other than trust 
income). Prenuptial agreements are not binding nor considered for Medicaid eligibility 
purposes or for spousal impoverishment. 
  (e) If the institutionalized spouse is the grantor of a trust providing for 
payment of income to him or her, the maximum amount payable by the terms of the trust 
will be counted as available. No income paid only to a community spouse shall be 
counted in determining eligibility or amount of the payment to the nursing home for the 
institutionalized spouse for any month of institutionalization. The rule on trust income 
incorporates Section 1902(k) of the Social Security Act, the Medicaid Qualifying Trust 
provision. 
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 (6) Compare the institutionalized spouse's countable income to the institutional 
income limit. 
  (a) After the institutionalized spouse has been determined income and 
resource eligible, determine the amount of income, if any, to be applied toward the cost 
of institutional care (i.e., liability amount) by deducting the following from the 
institutionalized spouse's income in the following order: 
   1. Personal Needs Allowance, 
   2. Community Spouse Monthly Maintenance Needs Allowance, if 
applicable, 
   3. Family Maintenance Needs Allowance, if applicable, 
   4. Amount for Health Insurance premiums, if applicable. 
  (b) The remainder should be the amount the claimant must pay to the 
nursing facility. In the case of a divorced couple, alimony is not considered to be an 
income deduction for decreasing the liability amount to be paid to the nursing facility. 
 
 (7) The minimum monthly maintenance needs standard for the community spouse 
is recalculated each year. Changes, if any, in this amount are effective in July. The 
community spouse monthly maintenance needs allowance is determined as follows: 
Deduct the community spouse's monthly income from the minimum monthly 
maintenance needs standard. This amount is published each year by the U. S. Department 
of Health & Human Services (HHS) and is 150 percent of the federal poverty level for a 
couple. Available income of the community spouse includes income that would be used 
to determine eligibility for the claimant, without benefit of disregards (including federal, 
state, and local taxes) (gross income according to SSI standards). Any remaining amount 
is the monthly maintenance needs allowance (if allocated to the spouse). This amount is 
used in the post-eligibility calculation for allocation to the community spouse. If in 
excess, an allowance is not made available. When allowances are not made available to 
(or for the benefit of) the community spouse, Medicaid will not deduct the allowance. 
The following are mandated deductions for the institutionalized spouse and may reduce 
the monthly maintenance needs allowance for the community spouse: 
  (a) personal needs allowance, 
  (b) Veterans Administration aid and attendance allowance, 
  (c) Veterans Administration payments for unusual medical expenses, and 
  (d) Veterans Administration continuing medical expenses. 
 
 (8) A maintenance needs allowance may be provided from the institutionalized 
spouse to other dependent family members. The dependent family member is defined as: 
a minor child, dependent adult child, dependent parent, or dependent sibling of either 
spouse, who is living with the community spouse and who is listed on the federal tax 
forms as a dependent (Internal Revenue Service tax dependent) of the community spouse. 
  (a) Allowances for each family member are determined as follows: 
   1. Step 1. Deduct the gross income of the family member from the 
community spouse minimum monthly maintenance standard; 
   2. Step 2. Divide the remainder in Step 1 by 3. 
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   3. Step 3. The remainder in Step 2, rounded down to the nearest 
dollar, is the minimum family monthly maintenance needs allowance used in the post-
eligibility calculation to be allocated to the family member. If in excess, an allowance is 
not made available, deduct allowances for other family members, regardless of whether 
institutionalized spouses make their income available to such persons. 
  (b) When there is no community spouse and there are other family 
members, the current AFDC payment standard will be used. The total number of family 
members at home will be computed against this table. This standard will be used when 
there are other family members, even though in some instances the needs allowance will 
be less than that of a spouse only. Any income of the family at home will be deducted 
from the standard to determine allocation. If the family at home has no income, the 
standard will be allocated. If the income of the institutionalized spouse is below the 
standard, the entire income will be allocated except for the protected personal needs 
allowance and the veterans aid and attendance allowance, veterans reimbursement for 
continuing unusual medical expenses. The current AFDC definition of family units will 
be used in determining who is a family member. 
 
 (9) Treatment of Resources - Medicaid shall "pool" the resources of an 
institutionalized and community spouse when: 
  (a) Either spouse requests an assessment at the beginning of the 
institutionalized spouse's first continuous period of institutionalization; and 
  (b) Although the married couple may not have requested a Spousal 
Assessment at the time one of the spouses was institutionalized, Medicaid shall determine 
the total combined resources existing at the point of institutionalization when the initial 
Medicaid application is filed. At the time of application, Medicaid computes the total 
combined value of the resources of the married couple and a Spousal Share. A Spousal 
Assessment will be conducted both at the time and date of institutionalization, and at the 
time of initial eligibility determination (i.e., eligibility or ineligibility). All the resources 
owned by either the institutionalized spouse or the community spouse, or both, shall be 
considered a countable resource available to the institutionalized spouse, except for  the 
community spouse’s Spousal Share. 
  (c) At the beginning of a continuous period of institutionalization of a 
spouse, Medicaid shall to determine the total value amount of both the Spousal Share of 
the community spouse and Medicaid eligibility for the institutionalized spouse for the 
first month of a continuous period of institutionalization as follows: 
   1. Step 1. List all combined countable resources owned individually 
or jointly by the married couple at the date and time of entry to the medical institution or 
nursing facility. The following types of otherwise excluded resources shall be included in 
a Spousal Assessment: 
    (i) equity value of real property normally excluded from assets 
due to a bona fide effort to sell; 
    (ii) equity value of real property normally excluded from assets 
because it is jointly owned, and the sale of the property would cause the other owner 
undue hardship because of the loss of housing; 
    (iii) equity value of real property normally excluded because of a 
legal impediment; and/or 
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    (iv) (iv) equity value of real property normally excluded 
because it is income producing. 
   2. Step 2. Determine the total value of items listed in Step 1 above. If 
the total in Step 2 is less than the Minimum Protected Resource Amount (published 
annually by HHS), stop here. All resources may be protected as the Spousal Share. If the 
amount in Step 2 is greater than the Minimum Protected Resource Amount, go to Step 3. 
   3. Step 3.  Determine 1/2 of the total value in Step 2. 
   4. Step 4. Compare the amount in Step 3 with the Maximum 
Protected Resource Amount (published annually by HHS). If the amount in Step 3 is less 
than the Maximum Protected Resource Amount, protect the amount in Step 3 as the 
Spousal Share. If the amount in Step 3 is greater than the Maximum Protected Resource 
Amount, protect the Maximum Protected Resource Amount as the Spousal Share. 
   5. Step 5.  Subtract the amount in Step 4 from the total amount in 
Step 2 above. The remaining amount is a countable resource to be used for the 
institutionalized spouse. If this remaining amount exceeds the current resource limit for 
an institutionalized case, the claimant is ineligible until those assets and assets 
accumulated during the spend-down period are spent down to the appropriate level. 
   6. During the continuous period of institutionalization, after the 
month in which an institutionalized spouse is determined to be eligible, no resources of 
the community spouse shall be deemed to the institutionalized spouse. 
   7. Once an assessment has been made, a new assessment can only be 
made if the claimant is discharged from the nursing facility or medical institution for 30 
continuous days and then readmitted for another 30-continuous day period. The 
assessment can be reevaluated if it is determined that inaccurate information was 
provided during the original assessment. Only the resources on hand at the point of 
continuous institutionalization of the institutionalized spouse, and the value of those 
resources can be used in the reevaluation of the assessment. After the assessment is 
completed, the amount attributed to the institutionalized spouse and any additional money 
accumulated or acquired by either spouse, must be spent down to $2,000.00 on the 
institutionalized spouse in order to be eligible. Gifts and resource exclusions that are 
otherwise available when determining an individual’s eligibility do not qualify as an 
appropriate spend down. The institutionalized spouse may spend the money on nursing 
home care, items he or she needs in the nursing home, to pay legitimate debts belonging 
solely to him or her, maintenance on property in proportion to the ownership interest, or 
other appropriate expenses. If the community spouse or institutionalized spouse acquires 
additional resources during the spend-down period, those additional resources must be 
spent down also. The only amount that the community spouse can retain, prior to and at 
the time of the effective date of eligibility for institutionalized Medicaid benefits, is the 
protected amount determined in the assessment. After the effective date of eligibility for 
institutionalized Medicaid benefits, no resources of the community spouse shall be 
deemed available to the institutionalized spouse. 
 
 (10) Undue Hardship 
  (a) If information is available to make a determination that excess resources 
exist and the institutionalized spouse or sponsor claims an undue hardship exists, the case 
will be sent to the Beneficiary Services East or West Division to determine whether an 
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undue hardship exists. If it is determined that an undue hardship exists, the 
institutionalized spouse may be awarded eligibility. 
  (b) An undue hardship exists under this section when Medicaid determines 
by clear and convincing evidence that the institutionalized spouse lacks the right, 
authority, or power to access the excess countable resources attributed to such spouse 
under 1924 (c)(2) of the Social Security Act, and ineligibility for Medicaid benefits will 
result in non-receipt of necessary medical services. In determining the existence of 
“undue hardship,” Medicaid will consider all circumstances involving the situation of the 
institutionalized spouse, including but not limited to the following: 
   1. Whether the institutionalized spouse (or authorized representative) 
has exhausted all reasonable efforts to obtain and utilize the resources in question; or 
   2. Whether the institutionalized spouse (or authorized representative) 
has exhausted all reasonable efforts to meet his/her needs from all other available 
sources; or 
   3. Whether the institutionalized spouse has been determined to be a 
person in need of care and protection pursuant to the Adult Protective Services Act, 
Alabama Code 1975 § 38-9-1, et seq. 
 
 (11) In situations when the community spouse cannot be located, is alleged 
deceased, or refuses to cooperate with the institutionalized spouse: 
  (a) The record shall contain a sworn statement completed by the 
institutionalized spouse or other person with knowledge of the whereabouts of the 
community spouse and must show the following: 
   1. last known name; 
   2. last known address; 
   3. forwarding address at the post office; 
   4. last known employment; 
   5. circumstances surrounding disappearance; 
   6. health of the individual at time of disappearance; 
   7. state of mind of the individual at time of disappearance; 
   8. efforts to locate; 
   9. SSN/VA claim number/other identifying information on the 
individual; and 
   10. if alleged to be deceased, obtain death certificate from the 
Department of Public Health. 
  (b) The eligibility specialist must follow up on any leads noted above and 
must verify the following: financial accounts, property, and employment. 
 
 (12) Transfers by the community spouse to a person or persons other than the 
institutionalized spouse may result in a period of ineligibility for nursing home payments 
for the institutionalized spouse. The institutionalized spouse will need to actually transfer 
(within 12 months) sufficient resources to equal the amount protected as the Spousal 
Share so that such resources do not continue to cause ineligibility. 
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 (13) All countable resources in excess of the amount protected for the Spousal 
Share shall be countable resources to the institutionalized spouse whether they are in the 
name of the institutionalized spouse or community spouse. 
 
Author:  Denise Banks, Associate Director, Policy & Training, Beneficiary Services 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  42 USC 1396r-5.  Social Security Act, Section 1924 (a) through 
(g). 
History:  Permanent rule effective September 9, 1998.  Amended: August 22, 2005; 
effective November 16, 2005.  Amended: Filed April 11, 2014; effective May 16, 2014.  
Amended: Filed September 11, 2018; effective October 26, 2018. 
 
 
Rule No. 560-X-25-.17.  Low Income Subsidy (LIS). 
 (1) The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and Modernization Act of 
2003 (MMA), established the Medicare Prescription Drug Program, also known as 
Medicare Part D, making prescription drug coverage available to Medicare beneficiaries. 
The MMA also provides extra help in the form of a Low-Income Subsidy (LIS) to apply 
to the premium cost associated with Medicare Part D. Individuals qualifying for LIS will 
receive full or partial assistance with the monthly Medicare Part-D premium, the yearly 
deductible, and prescription co-payments depending on the income, family size, and 
resources of the beneficiary. 
 
 (2) Medicare beneficiaries with full Medicaid, SSI recipients, and Medicare 
beneficiaries participating in the Medicare Savings Programs (QMB, SLMB, QI) will be 
deemed to be eligible for LIS, and do not have to make a separate application. Medicare 
beneficiaries with limited income and resources who do not fall into one of the deemed 
subsidy groups must make application for the LIS Program through the Social Security 
Administration or the Medicaid Agency. If an individual or couple completes the Social 
Security Administration’s LIS application at a Medicaid site, or forwards a completed 
Social Security Administration LIS application to a Medicaid site, the Medicaid Agency 
will forward the completed application to the Social Security Administration’s LIS 
processing center. If an applicant insists upon a formal LIS determination by Medicaid, 
the applicant must complete a Medicaid LIS application and submit the required 
verification to the Medicaid Agency. 
 
 (3) Individuals must be entitled to Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance) and/or 
Part B (Medicare Insurance) and enroll in a prescription drug plan that services their area. 
 

2006 Subsidy Eligible Groups 
FPL & Assets 
 

Percentage of 
Premium Subsidy 
Amount (1) 
 

Deductible 
 

Copayment up to out 
of-pocket limit 
 

Copayment above 
out of-pocket 
limit 
 

Full-benefit dual eligible 
individual – institutionalized 
individual 
 

100%* 
 

$0 
 

$0 
 

$0 
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Full-benefit dual eligible 
individual –Income at or below 
100% FPL (non-institutionalized 
individual) 
 

100%* 
 

$0 
 

The lesser of: (1) an 
amount that does not 
exceed $1- generic/ 
preferred multiple 
source and $3- other 
drugs, or (2) the amount 
charged to other 
individuals below 135% 
FPL and with assets that 
do not exceed $6,000 
(individuals) or $9,000 
(couples) 
 

$0 
 

Full-benefit dual eligible 
individual – Income above 100% 
FPL (non-institutionalized 
individual) 
 

100%* 
 

$0 
 

An amount that does 
not exceed $2-
generic/preferred 
multiple source and $5-
other drugs 
 

$0 
 

Other low-income beneficiary 
with income below 135% FPL 
and with assets that do not 
exceed $6,000 (individuals) or 
$9,000 (couples) 
 

100%* 
 

$0 
 

An amount that does 
not exceed $2-
generic/preferred 
multiple source and $5-
other drugs 
 

$0 
 

Other low-income beneficiary 
with income below 135% FPL 
and with assets that exceed 
$6,000 but do not exceed 
$10,000 (individuals) or with 
assets that exceed $9,000 but do 
not exceed $20,000 (couples) 
 

100%* 
 

$50 
 

15% coinsurance 
 

An amount that 
does not exceed 
$2-generic/ 
preferred multiple 
source drug or $5-
other drugs 
 

Other low-income beneficiary 
with income at or above 135% 
FPL but below 150% FPL, and 
with assets that do not exceed 
$10,000 (individuals) or $20,000 
(couples) 
 

Sliding scale 
premium subsidy 
(100%-0%) 
 

$50 
 

15% coinsurance 
 

An amount that 
does not exceed 
$2-generic/ 
preferred multiple 
source drug or $5-
other drugs 
 

 
 (4) The following eligibility criteria must be met: 
  (a) Resource limits are effective using SSI criteria 
   1. Individual at or below $10,000 plus $1,500 burial exclusion 
   2. Couples at or below $20,000 plus $3,000 burial exclusion 
  (b) Income limits are effective using SSI criteria 
   1. Full subsidy - income at or below 135% of the FPL 
   2. Partial subsidy - income above 135% but below 150% of the FPL 
  (c) Poverty level standards for income will be based on household size 
which will include the applicant, his/her spouse, and all relatives for whom the applicant 
provides support and could claim for income tax purposes, and who are living with the 
applicant. 
  (d) Income and resources will be verified 
  (e) Reviewed annually 
 
 (5) LIS eligibility is as follows: 
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  (a) For calendar year 2006, eligibility is effective as of the first day of the 
month of application, but not earlier than January 1, 2006, and remains in effect for a 
period not to exceed one year. 
  (b) For any calendar year after 2006, eligibility is effective as of the first 
day of the month of application and remains in effect for a period consistent with the 
State Plan, but not to exceed one year. 
  (c) LIS determination is not a determination for eligibility for Medicaid 
services. 
  (d) LIS is subject to Medicaid administrative rules and policies regarding 
application processing and redeterminations 
 
Author:  Audrey Middleton, Associate Director, Policy and Program Implementation 
Unit, Certification Support Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act 1935(a), 1860D-14, 1905(p)(3); and 42 CFR 
423.774 and 423.904. 
History:  New Rule Filed: November 18, 2005; effective February 15, 2006. 
 


