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MME Edit Coming Early 2019

The Alabama Medicaid Agency is working on implementing Morphine Milligram Equivalent (MME)
edits in early 2019.

Higher doses of opioids are associated with higher risk of overdose and death — even relatively low
dosages (20-50 MME per day) may increase risk.! Therefore, beginning in early 2019, Alabama Medicaid
will limit the amount of cumulative MME’s allowed per day on opioid claims. The edit will begin at 250
cumulative MME per day and will gradually decrease over time. The final MME target will be 90 MME
per day. Claims for opioids that exceed the maximum daily cumulative MME limit will be denied.

Claims prescribed by oncologists will bypass the edit. Long term care, hospice patients, and children will
also be excluded.

Overrides for quantities exceeding the MME limit may be submitted to Health Information Designs (HID).
Information regarding override requirements and MME examples will be made available on the Alabama
Medicaid Agency website closer to the implementation of the new limitations.

Additional information will be disseminated to all impacted providers through a provider ALERT closer to
implementation; please check the Alabama Medicaid Pharmacy webpage for additional information.
http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/content/4.0 Programs/4.3 Pharmacy-DME.aspx

! https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/prescribing/guideline.html

Partial Filling of a Schedule Il Prescription

The Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA) of 2016 passed the United States Senate and was
signed into law on July 22, 2016. CARA allows pharmacists to partially fill Schedule Il controlled substances
(CS). According to CARA, a prescription may be partially filled if: it is written and filled according to state and
federal law, the partial fill is requested by the patient or prescribing practitioner, and the total quantity
dispensed does not exceed the quantity prescribed. Remaining portions of partially filled prescriptions must
be filled within 30 days of the original written prescription date. There is no single specified way to fill or bill
prescriptions under the CARA update.


http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/content/4.0_Programs/4.3_Pharmacy-DME.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/prescribing/guideline.html
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Alabama Tobacco Quitline

What is the Alabama Tobacco Quitline?

The Alabama Tobacco Quitline is a free telephone number (1-800-784-8669) and online coaching service
(www.quitnowalabama.com) for any Alabamian who is ready to quit tobacco. The Quitline is open from 6
a.m. to midnight seven days a week.

What services are available?

All Quitline services are FREE to Alabama residents including:

e Telephone and online coaching

e Printed support materials

e Electronic and fax referral program for healthcare providers

o Up to eight weeks of nicotine replacement therapy patches, if enrolled in coaching and medically eligible.
Medicaid patients are not eligible for NRT through the Quitline and should get their cessation medications
through Medicaid Pharmacy Services. Details are below. *

How can the Quitline help your patients?

Healthcare providers are encouraged to refer patients directly to the Quitline by faxing a referral form to 1-
800-692-9023 or completing the electronic referral form found at www.quitnowalabama.com. The Quitline

will contact the referred patient within 24 hours of receiving a referral to enroll the patient into the Quitline
coaching program.

*For Medicaid patients:

Medicaid pays for any of the seven approved cessation medications** for its patients if the following
documentation is submitted: both the Medicaid Pharmacy Smoking Cessation Prior Authorization Request
Form and Quitline referral form. Both forms should be faxed to Health Information Designs at 1-800-748-
0116 and the Quitline referral form should be faxed to the Quitline at 1-800-692-9023. Plan First recipients
are not required to have a Prior Authorization form submitted.

**Approved cessation medications include nicotine patches, gum, lozenges, inhalers, nasal spray, varenicline
and bupropion SR, according to Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence, U.S. Clinical Practice Guidelines,
2008.

...Continued on next page


http://quitnowalabama.com/
http://quitnowalabama.com/
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Alabama Tobacco Quitline, continued

Quitline/Medicaid Pharmacy PA forms

The Quitline fax referral forms, both English and Spanish versions, and the Medicaid Pharmacy Smoking
Cessation Prior Authorization Request Form can be found at www.quitnowalabama.com. Forms and

materials may also be found at www.medicaid.alabama.gov under Programs > Pharmacy > Smoking

Cessation.

For more information about the Alabama Tobacco Quitline, or to order Quitline materials for your office,
call Julie Hare at 334-206-3830 or email Julie.Hare@adph.state.al.us. Visit www.quitnowalabama.com and

www.adph.org/tobacco, click Healthcare Providers link.

Smoking Cessation Services Guidance

Smoking Cessation Counseling

Beginning January 1, 2014, the Alabama Medicaid Agency began coverage of smoking cessation counseling
services for Medicaid-eligible pregnant women. Medicaid will reimburse for up to four face-to-face
counseling sessions in a 12-month period. The reimbursement period will begin in the prenatal period and
continue through the postpartum period (60 days after delivery or pregnancy end). Documentation must
support each counseling session. Providers must bill on a HCFA-1500 form to be reimbursed for counseling
services.

The following CPT Codes are applicable:

e 99406—Smoking and tobacco use cessation counseling visit; intermediate, greater than three minutes up
to 10 minutes ($8.60)

e 99407—Smoking and tobacco use cessation counseling visit; intensive, greater than 10 minutes ($17.12)

The following diagnosis codes must be billed on the claim (UB-04 or CMS-1500 claim form) in order to be
reimbursed by Medicaid:

e Z331—Pregnancy state, incidental,
e Z333—Pregnancy state gestational carrier,
e 73400—Z73493—Encounter for Supervision of Normal Pregnancy
e 00900—00993—Supervision of high-risk pregnancy/Pregnancy with other poor obstetric history,
e 03680X0—03680X9—Maternal Care for other fetal problems, or
e 7392—Encounter for routine postpartum follow-up,
AND

e F17200—F17299—Nicotine dependence, unspecified


http://quitnowalabama.com/
http://quitnowalabama.com/
http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov/
mailto:julie.hare@adph.state.al.us
http://quitnowalabama.com/
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/tobacco/
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Smoking Cessation Products

Zyban® Chantix® Nicotine Na- Nicotine In- Nicotine Nicotine Loz- Nicotine
sal Spray halation Gum enge Patch
Available Zyban®, Chantix® Nicotrol® NS Nicotrol® Nicorette®, Nicorette®, NicoDerm
Products bupropion SR | varenicline 0.5 mg nico- Inhaler generic prod- | generic prod- | CQ®, generic
150 mg tab- 0.5mg, 1 mg | tinein 50 10 mg car- ucts available | ucts available | products
lets tablets mcl nicotine | tridge deliv- 2mg,4mg 2mg,4mg available
Rx only Starting solution (1 ers 4 mgin- oTC oTC 7 mg, 14 mg,
Month PAK spray = 0.5 haled nico- 21 mg
Continuing mg nicotine) tine vapor oTC
Month PAK Rx only Rx only
Rx only
Dosing Days 1-3: Days 1-3: 1 spray into Initial dose If 1% ciga- If 1* ciga- < 10 ciga-
150 mg daily | 0.5 mg daily each nostril for at least 3- | rette is > 30 rette is > 30 rettes/day:
Then in- Days 4-7: 1-2 times/hr | 6 wks & up mins after mins after 14 mgx6
crease to 150 | 0.5 mg BID *1 dose =2 to 12 wks: waking: 2 mg | waking: 2 mg | wks
mg BID Day 8 —end sprays (1 in 6-16 car- 7 mg x 2 wks
-Initiate ther- | of treat- each nostril)* | tridges/day If 1% ciga- If 1% ciga- 210 ciga-
apy while ment: 1 mg -Patients rette is <30 rette is < 30 rettes/day:
patient is still | BID Initial dose must stop mins after mins after 21 mgx6
smoking -Begin 1 wk should be at | smoking waking: 4 mg | waking: 4 mg | wks
-Set a “target | before the least 8 dos- completely (21 mgx4
quit date” “target quit es/day -Best effect Weeks 1-6: Weeks 1-6: wks if gener-
within the date” -Patients with fre- 1qg1-2hrs 1q1-2hrs ic brand)
first 2 weeks | -Take after must stop quent contin- | Weeks 7-9: Weeks 7-9: 14 mgx2
of treatment | eating an smoking uous puffing 1qg2-4hrs 1q92-4 hrs wks
-Take at the with a full completely (20 mins) Weeks 10- Weeks 10- 7 mg x 2 wks
same time glass of w -Do not use > | -Inhale into 12: 12:1q4-8
daily ter 5 doses/hr the back of 1g4-8hrs hrs -Patients
-Separate -Treatment -Do not use > | the throat must stop
doses by 8 duration: 12 40 doses/day | not into the -Chew each -Allow to smoking
hrs weeks -Wait 5 mins | lungs piece slowly dissolve -Apply patc
-Do not ex- -Additional before driv- -Gradually -Do not drink | slowly (20-30 | first thingin
ceed 300 12-wk course | ing or oper- reduce daily oreat 15 mins) the morning
mg/day may be used | ating machi dosage after mins before -Do not drink | -Apply at the
-Continue for patients ery 12 wks of or during use | oreat15 same time
treatment for | who have -Do not drink | therapy -Do not cont- | mins before daily
7-12 wks Stopped oreat 15 -Do not use > | inuously use or during use | -Do not wear
smoking to mins before 16 car- one piece -Do not use > | more than 1
increase lik or during use | tridges/day after the oth- | 5lozengesin | patchata
lihood of -Treatment -Do not drink | er 6 hrs time
long-term duration: up or eat 15 -Do not use > | -Do not use > | -Do not cut
abstinence to 3 months mins before 24 pieces 20 lozenges patch
or during use | day day -Patch may
-Treatment -Treatment -Treatment be worn for
duration: up duration: 12 | duration: 12 | 16 or 24 hrs
to 6 months wks wks -Treatment
duration: 10

wks
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January 1st Pharmacy Changes

Effective November 19, 2018 the Alabama Medicaid Agency will:

1. Add Xofluza' to the PDLas a preferred agent.

In anticipation of the upcoming flu season and the FDA-approval of Xofluza“ on October 24th, the P & T
Committee made an ad hoc recommendation during the November 7th meeting. The Committee recommended
to follow the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) statewide influenza epidemiology status or all
available FDA-approved influenza antivirals (including Xofluza )as soon as is possible to have the agents
available for the upcoming flu season. Therefore, Xofluza® was added to preferred status prior to the January 1,

2019, PDL update.
Effective January 1, 2019, the Alabama Medicaid Agency will:
1. Require Prior Authorization (PA) for ritonavir (generic Norvir) Brand Norvir will not require prior authorization.

Use Dispense as Written (DAW) Code of 9 for brand Makena. DAW Code of 9 indicates the following: Substitution
Allowed by Prescriber but Plan Requests Brand. This value is used when the prescriber has indicated, in a manner
specified by prevailing law, that generic substitution is permitted, but the Plan requests the brand product to be

dispensed.

2. Update the PDL to reflect the quarterly updates. The updates are listed below:

Zubsolv Opiate Partial Agents
Eucrisa“® Skin and Mucous Membrane, Anti-inflammatory
Agents

For additional PDL and coverage information, visit our drug look-up site at https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/
ALPortal/NDC%20Look%20Up/tabld/39/Default.aspx.

The PA request form and criteria booklet, as well as a link for a PA request form that can be completed and submitted
electronically online, can be found on the Agency’s website at www.medicaid.alabama.gov and should be utilized by the
prescriber or the dispensing pharmacy when requesting a PA. Providers requesting Pas by mail or fax should send requests
to:

Health Information Designs (HID)
Medicaid Pharmacy Administrative Services
P.0.Box 3210
Auburn, AL 36832-3210

Incomplete PA requests or those failing to meet Medicaid criteria will be denied. If the prescriber believes medical
justification should be considered, the prescriber must document this on the form or submit a written letter of medical
justification along with the PA form to HID. Additional information may be requested. Staff physicians will review this
information.

Policy questions concerning this provider notice should be directed to the Pharmacy Program at (334) 242-5050. Ques-
tions regarding prior authorization procedures should be directed to the HID help desk at 1-800-748-0130.



https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/NDC%20Look%20Up/tabId/39/Default.aspx
https://www.medicaid.alabamaservices.org/ALPortal/NDC%20Look%20Up/tabId/39/Default.aspx
http://www.medicaid.alabama.gov

