
Alabama Medicaid Lien Procedures 
 

TEFRA LIENS 

• Established under federal law, a TEFRA (pre-death) lien may be placed against the 
real property of certain applicants/recipients who are an inpatient in a nursing 
facility, Intermediate Care Facility for the Intellectually Disabled, or other long-
term medical institutions AND have been determined eligible for the Nursing 
Home Medicaid Program or other institutional care based on Medicaid eligibility 
criteria, regulations, and policies.   

 
• Liens are taken by the appropriate Medicaid staff at the time of application or 

when a change occurs requiring a lien to be taken. The Estate Recovery/Liens 
Section, located in Montgomery, is responsible for filing, executing, and releasing 
the liens held by the Alabama Medicaid Agency.  

 
• When the lien is recorded, it appears in the chain of title like any other lien, 

mortgage or judgment filed against the property. Liens remain active until further 
action is taken.  

 
• When a lien is held by Medicaid, the Agency becomes a creditor, not the owner of 

the property. Responsibility for the property remains with the owner or the heirs.  
 

• Without the lien, the applicant or his/her family would have to pay for his/her 
medical assistance OR he/she would have to sell the property, spend down the 
money, and reapply. 

 
• Signing a lien to Medicaid does not necessarily mean that an applicant/recipient 

will lose his/her property.  
 

• A recipient can stay in the nursing home for 2 months or 2 years, return to the 
property Medicaid holds a lien against, stay there for the requisite amount of time, 
and Medicaid will release its lien. The recipient may be asked to provide 
documentation to support their return to the property.  

 
• Medicaid does not always take a lien against the property. We do not take a lien if:  

a) A spouse is living in the home;  
b) If a child under 21 or one who is blind or totally, medically disabled lives 

in the home;  
c) If a sibling, with an equity interest in the home, was residing there for 

one year before the person was admitted to a nursing home; OR 
d) If the applicant/recipient owns a life estate interest in the property.  
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HOW MEDICAID DETERMINES THE LIEN AMOUNT  

• Medicaid must be reimbursed the amount expended on behalf of the recipient (total 
medical charges expended by Medicaid during the eligibility period) or the current 
tax appraised value of the property, whichever is less.  

 
• If the property sells for more than the tax appraised value, Medicaid is entitled to 

all proceeds (this amount would be sales price minus approved closing costs or 
other expenses) up to the amount paid in benefits for the recipient.  

 
• If the property cannot be sold at the tax appraised value, the recipient (or his/her 

responsible party) can appeal the figure to the County Board of Equalization for 
the tax appraised value to be lowered. A licensed appraiser may be hired for a new 
appraisal of the property as well. If a licensed appraiser is hired, the cost of the 
appraisal charged by the licensed appraiser will be at the requestor’s expense. The 
Agency will not allow this expense to be reimbursed at closing.  

 

NOTIFICATION OF THE LIEN (After Death) 

• Medicaid notifies the appropriate individual (usually the Medicaid sponsor) in 
writing regarding the amount needed to satisfy the lien. This letter (called a billing 
letter) will state the amount expended by Medicaid on the recipient’s behalf as well 
as the current tax appraised value. This letter is mailed approximately 60 days after 
the date of death to ensure all medical charges have been processed. The amount 
stated on the billing letter is subject to change depending on value of the property 
at the time of satisfaction.   

Please note: The Notice of Termination, sent by the Medicaid District Office, also states “If the above mentioned 
Medicaid recipient was required to sign a TEFRA (property) lien in order to qualify for Medicaid benefits, please 

contact the Liens Division at (334) 242-5305 or (334) 242-5888.” 

 

OPTIONS FOR SATISFYING MEDICAID’S LIEN 

• There are several options available to satisfy Medicaid’s lien:  
a) Pay amount in full;  
b) Sell property and pay amount due (Medicaid must be contacted at least 3 

days prior to the closing by the closing attorney to obtain a Medicaid 
payoff);  

c) Sign promissory note and make monthly payments to Medicaid; OR 
d) Risk foreclosure. 
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• Once Medicaid has received the amount necessary to satisfy the lien, the Agency 
will execute a Lien Release and send it to the individual who remits the funds to 
Medicaid.  

 

You may also visit the link provided below for additional information regarding Estate 
Recovery, Liens, and our contractor.  

http://medicaid.alabama.gov/content/7.0_Providers/7.1_Third_Party/7.1.1_Estate_Recovery_and
_Property_Liens.aspx 
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