Rule No. 560-X-12-.08 Physieian Certification and Recertification

(1) An eligible Medicaid recipient may be considered for home health services (.e.,
nursing services and home health aide services) upon the initial written prescription or order
signed ard-place by a physician licensed in the State of Alabama whe-develops-the recipient’s

writien-plan-of care-(the-“ordering physieian™jor an authorized non-physician practitioner (NPP).

(2) The ordering physician or NPP must sign and place the initial prescription or order
for home health services only after the required face-to-face visit with the recipient is conducted.
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(3)  Subsequent written prescriptions or orders for refills, ancillary supplies, repairs or
services, or re-certifications do not require the ordering physician’s or NPP’s signature or an
additional face-to-face visit.

(4)  Either -an authorized the-erdering physician or one of the following authorized non-
physician practitioners @NPP) working under a collaboration agreement under Alabama law must
may conduct the required face-to-face visit and write so-that-the-ordering-physician-can-place-and
sign the initial sw#itten prescription or order for home health services:

(a) Certified registered nurse practitioners {CRNE) or clinical nurse specialists;

(b) Certified nurse midwifes underapplicable-Adabama lavw:
(c) Physician assistants (PA) under the supervision of the erdering physician; or
(d) Attending acute or post-acute physicians, if recipients are admitted to home
health services immediately after discharge from an acute or post-acute stay.

(5) ©nlyThethe-erdering physician or NPP- smay-must document the clinical findings
of the required face-to-face visit for the initial written prescription or order for home health

services in the recipient’s medical record. fan NPP conducted the required-face to-facevisit,
rea-the PR communicate the-elinical indings-ef the required face-to-face-visitto-the

(6) The required face-to-face visit for the initial written prescription or order for home
health services must be conducted no more than 90 days before or 30 days after the start of
service. The face-to-face visit must be related to the primary reason why the recipient requires
home health services. The ordeting physician or NPP must provide written documentation to the
home health provider regarding the recipient’s condition, which justify that the recipient meets
home health criteria. The ordering physician or NPP must be an active Medicaid provider
licensed in the State of Alabama. The required face-to-face visit may be conducted using
telehealth systems.

(7)  The ordering physician or NPP must recertify care every sixty (60) days if home
health services continue to be necessary.

(8) For more information on the requirements for placing the initial written
prescription or order for certain medical supplies, equipment, and appliances, please refer to



Chapter 13—Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Supplies, Appliances, Prosthetics, Orthotics
and Pedorthics (POP).

Author: Renee R. Adams, Program Manager, Home Health, Long Term Care Division
Statutory Authority: Title XIX, Social Security Act; 42 C.F.R. Section 440.70; and State Plan.
History: Rule effective October 1, 1982. Amended: Filed December 18, 2000; Amended: Filed
February 10, 2017; effective March 27, 2017. Amended: Emergency Rule filed and effective
August 1, 2018. Amended: Filed August 10, 2018; effective September 24, 2018. Amended:
Filed August 20, 2020.



